This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Under 18 name side to face Georgia

29 March 2012

  • England ready for Georgian test in Madrid
  • It will be a big challenge – Fletcher
England Under 18s line up

Photo: Getty Images

England Under 18 Head Coach John Fletcher has named his side to take on Georgia for Friday's opening game of the 2012 FIRA tournament in Madrid, kick off 9.30am UK time.

England were losing finalists in last year’s event and kick off this season’s competition against a strong Georgian side at the Universitaria Madrid. Eton College’s Gus Jones captains England and Fletcher is looking forward to the game.

He said: “This is a big tournament for the lads and Georgia up first will be a big test. For the past few years they have been getting stronger – they play to their strengths, they have big forwards, they’re physical and they will be a handful.

“It will be a big challenge – particularly for our forward pack – we play them on a narrow pitch, so it’s exciting and we’re looking forward to it.

Fletcher added: “Playing in this competition is actually quite humbling for our guys, we’ll see players that are not as well supported as us and it’s a good leveller. Last year we did some work with Serbia which was really interesting, it was great to see our guys breaking down the language barrier and communicating through rugby, which is what it’s all about.”

England U18 starting XV v Georgia

15 Zach Kibirige (Yarm School) (Newcastle Falcons)
14 Howard Packman (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
13 George Catchpole (Leicester Grammar) (Leicester Tigers)
12 Nick Carpenter (Filton College) (Bristol Rugby)
11 Nathan Earle (Oaklands) (Saracens)
10 Sam Olver (Oundle School) (Northampton Saints)
9 Tom Chapman (Colfe’s School) (Saracens)

1 Harry Rudkin (Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth 1st) (Leicester Tigers)
2 Harry Thacker (Leicester Grammar) (Leicester Tigers)
3 Scott Wilson (Sedbergh School) (Newcastle Falcons)
4 Maro Itoje (Harrow School) (Saracens)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bryanston School) (Bath Rugby)
6 Max Northcote-Green (Millfield) (Bath Rugby)
7 Gus Jones (Eton College) (London Wasps)
8 Joel Conlon (Ivybridge Community College) (Exeter Chiefs)


16 Reece Marshall (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
17 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
18 Alex Lundberg  (Hampton) (London Wasps)
19 Jake Oldaker (Wellington College) (Bath Rugby)
20 Josh Buggea (Hartpury College) (Worcester Warriors)
21 Callum Braley (Hartpury College) (Bristol Rugby)
22 Billy Burns (Hartpury College) (Gloucester Rugby)
23 Javiah Pohe (Wyggeston  & Queen Elizabeth 1st) (Leicester Tigers)
24 Tom Stephenson (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)
25 Josh Watkins (Bromsgrove School) (Worcester Warriors)
26 Ross Moriarty (Hartpury College) (Gloucester)

Tournament schedule (UK times)

March 30 
England v Georgia (FIRA Elite Match 2) (9.30am)

April 4 
Loser M2 v Loser M3 (FIRA Elite Match 8) (11.45am)
or Winner M2 v Winner M3 (FIRA Elite Match 6) (2.30pm)

April 7 
Winner M5 v Winner M6 (3:45pm)
or Loser M5 v Loser M6 (2:00pm)
or Winner M7 v Winner M8 (11:45am)
or Loser M7 v Loser M8 (10:00am)