This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Under 20 squad for South Africa

01 May 2012

  • England Under 20 squad for South Africa trip
  • Competition for places has been high – Hunter
England Under 20 players celebrate

Photo: Getty Images

England Under 20 coaches Rob Hunter and Nick Walshe have named their 28-man squad ahead of the IRB Junior World Championship in South Africa, which kicks off against Italy on June 4.

The squad contains players with a huge amount of Aviva Premiership, A-League and RFU Championship experience, and Head Coach Hunter is pleased with the players at his disposal as they look to better last season’s second place finish.

“Competition for places has been high and some good players have missed out, however we’re very pleased with the 28 selected,” he said. “The games come thick and fast in this tournament, we’ve got a tough group and we’re excited by that challenge.”

England Under 20 Head Coach Rob Hunter

Photo: Getty Images

After Italy, Six Nations winners England face Ireland before coming up against hosts South Africa in Stellenbosch, one year after defeating the southern hemisphere nation 26-20.

Hunter added: "We have two huge games before we come up against South Africa, that game stands out for the experience of playing them in front of their home support. For now though all our attention is on that first game against Italy, each year they improve and we’ll need to be fully focused."

England U20 IRB Junior World Championship squad


Dom Barrow (Leeds Carnegie)
Koree Britton (Gloucester Rugby)*
Jack Clifford (Harlequins)
Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
Max Crumpton (Saracens)
Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks)
Alec Hepburn (London Wasps)
Matt Kvesic (Worcester Warriors)*
George Merrick (Harlequins)
Nathan Morris (London Wasps)
Ben Nutley (Northampton Saints)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
David Sisi (London Irish)
Sam Twomey (Harlequins)*
Chris Walker (Leeds Carnegie)


Will Addison (Sale Sharks)
Josh Bassett (Bedford Blues)
Tommy Bell (Sale Sharks)
Jamie Elliott (Northampton Saints)
Tom Heathcote (Bath Rugby)
Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs)
Ryan Mills (Gloucester Rugby)*
Ben Ransom (Saracens)*
Dan Robson (Gloucester Rugby)*
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Ben Spencer (Saracens)
Charlie Walker (Harlequins)
Marland Yarde (London Irish)*

* Played in 2011 IRB Junior World Championship

IRB Junior World Championship schedule

All games live on Sky Sports HD

Game 1
England v Italy
Monday June 4, 15:45 (GMT)
University of Western Cape Stadium, Cape Town

Game 2
England v Ireland
Friday June 8, 17:45 (GMT)
Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch

Game 3
South Africa v England
Tuesday June 12, 17:45 (GMT)
Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch

Sunday June 17

Friday June 22