This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Midlands counties set for revamped National Under 20 Competition

06 November 2012

  • East Midlands face Gloucestershire in Championship
  • Staffordshire and Warwickshire in Shield action

Three Midlands counties will be in action when the new-look National Under 20 Competition kicks off on Sunday November 11.

The tournament, which was previously played on a regional qualifying basis, has been re-organised into a two tier competition with a Championship and Shield, each producing quarter-finalists.

The changes have been made to ensure that counties and other RFU Constituent Bodies can enter an appropriate competitive level with meaningful competition and player welfare the focus.

The Championship and Shield will each have a pool and knock-out stage. The quarter-finals will be played on April 7, the semi-finals on April 21 and the final of the weekend of May 4.

East Midlands are the only Midlands side in action on the opening weekend of the competition with a Championship Pool 2 match against Gloucestershire at Northampton BBOB on November 11.

Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire will play their opening Championship match against North Midlands at Derby on November 18 (3pm).

In the Shield competition Staffordshire host Oxford University at Walsall with Warwickshire travelling to play Oxfordshire at Henley in the other Pool Two match on November 11. Warwickshire were beaten 29-0 by North Midlands in their final warm-up match at Broadstreet last week.

Leicestershire, who sit out this weekend’s opening round of matches, begin their Shield Pool 1 campaign with a trip to Hartlepool Rovers to play Durham on December 2.

National Under 20 Competition fixtures 2012/13

Championship Pool 2:

November 11: East Midlands v Gloucestershire at Northampton BBOB (2pm)

November 18:  Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire v North Midlands at Derby (3pm)

December 2: Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire v Gloucestershire at Derby (2.15pm)

December 3: North Midlands v East Midlands at Moseley (7.30pm)

February 6: East Midlands v Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire (venue TBC)

February 10: Gloucestershire v North Midlands at Cinderford (2.15pm).

Shield Pool 1:

December 2: Durham v Leicestershire at Hartlepool Rovers (2.15pm)

February 10: Leicestershire v Cumbria at Coalville (2.30pm)

Shield Pool 2:

November 11: Oxfordshire v Warwickshire at Henley (2.30pm), Staffordshire v Oxford University at Walsall (2.30pm)

December 5: Warwickshire v Staffordshire at Broadstreet (7.30pm)

February 10: Staffordshire v Oxfordshire (venue TBC), Oxford University v Warwickshire at Iffley Road (2.30pm)