This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Australia name side to face England

15 November 2012

  • Australia without captain David Pocock
  • Ioane returns to the back line

France v Australia in Paris

Photo: Getty Images

Australia have made four changes to their line-up for Saturday's clash with England at Twickenham.

In the backs the powerful Digby Ioane is restored to the right wing after missing last week's 33-6 loss to France in Paris because of a knee injury.

And Berrick Barnes, who made his own return from injury as a replacement in Paris, starts at full-back in place of the benched Mike Harris.

Up front Ben Alexander, a key man in the Wallabies pack, is back at tighthead in place of Sekope Kepu and in the second row fit-again Sitaleki Timani comes in for Kane Douglas.

Coach Robbie Deans, who lost their star player David Pocock to injury earlier in the week, said they are keen to put their Paris defeat behind them.

"The key focus has been to take the meaning from it, and put that learning into practice for this week, both through our preparation and then onto the game itself," Deans said.

"There aren't too many challenges in Test rugby that are greater than playing England at Twickenham.

"We are playing an England side that has been building up under its new leadership, and will see Saturday as the chance to lay down a marker for the future. They will be excited by the opportunities they saw out of our performance last weekend.

"But it goes both ways. Saturday is a significant opportunity for us as a group as well. It's going to be a great occasion, and one that the whole group is looking forward to."

Australia team to face England

15 Berrick Barnes
14 Digby Ioane
13 Adam Ashley-Cooper
12 Ben Tapuai
11 Nick Cummins
10 Kurtley Beale
9 Nick Phipps

1 Benn Robinson
2 Tatafu Polota Nau
3 Ben Alexander
4 Sitaleki Timani
5 Nathan Sharpe
6 Dave Dennis
7 Michael Hooper
8 Wycliff Palu.


16 Stephen Moore
17 James Slipper
18 Sekope Kepu
19 Radike Samo
20 Liam Gill
21 Brett Sheehan
22 Mike Harris
23 Drew Mitchell