This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Joseph and Morgan retained by England

20 November 2012

  • Jonathan Joseph and Ben Morgan among 24 players to prepare for South Africa
  • James Haskell and Alex Corbisiero also make first appearances in match day squad
England centre Ben Morgan on the run for Gloucester against London Welsh in the LV= Cup

Photo: Getty Images

Jonathan Joseph and Ben Morgan are among 24 players who will return to Pennyhill Park tomorrow evening to prepare for the third QBE International against South Africa this Saturday.

London Irish centre Joseph and Gloucester Rugby No.8 Ben Morgan, who scored a hat trick against London Welsh in the LV= Cup at the weekend, make their first appearances in the match day squad this autumn.

Similarly, London Wasps flanker James Haskell and London Irish loose head Alex Corbisiero are retained by England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster, with starters from the 20-14 defeat to Australia, wing Charlie Sharples, No.8 Thomas Waldrom, flanker Tom Johnson and prop Joe Marler, among those released back to their clubs.

Lancaster said: "We have made some changes this week to freshen up the squad before the challenge of South Africa. Unfortunately that means one or two players miss out who were in the match day squad against Australia.

England and London Irish centre Jonathan Joseph during a training session at Pennyhill Park

Photo: Getty Images

“But they have all added value with their contributions in training and the games and I am sure they will be looking to play well for their clubs and force their way back in.

"The changes however give opportunities to those who have been pushing hard and we feel will add energy and balance to the team ahead of the significant South African challenge."

England squad to prepare for South Africa

Forwards (14)

Mouritz Botha (Saracens)
Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
James Haskell (London Wasps)
Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)
David Paice (London Irish)
Tom Palmer (London Wasps)
Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
David Wilson (Bath Rugby)
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Backs (10)

Chris Ashton (Saracens)
Brad Barritt (Saracens)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
Alex Goode (Saracens)
Jonathan Joseph (London Irish)
Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

The following 11 players have this evening been released back to their clubs:

Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers)
Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)
Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Ugo Monye (Harlequins)
George Robson (Harlequins)
Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby)
Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)
Thomas Waldrom (Leicester Tigers)