This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

South Africa name unchanged XV to face England

21 November 2012

  • South Africa name unchanged XV
  • De Villiers will become fifth most-capped Springbok ever
Strauss scored twice against Scotland

Photo Credit: Getty Images

South Africa will face England at Twickenham on Saturday with the same XV that beat Scotland last weekend.

Springboks coach Heyneke Meyer will stick with the same 15 players that defeated Scotland 21-10 at Murrayfield despite injury concerns over winger JP Pietersen and prop Gurthro Steenkamp earlier in the week.The starting XV includes just six players from the side that drew 14-14 with England in the final match of this summer's tour.

Lock Eben Etzebeth was also a potential doubt after being cited following last weekend’s match, but was cleared yesterday (Tuesday) of eye-gouging and will now line up next to Juandre Kruger in the second row.

Two changes have been made to the South African bench with Pat Cilliers coming in for CJ Van der Linde and Elton Jantjies replacing Morne Steyn.

Jean de Villiers will become the fifth most-capped Springbok ever when he starts at inside centre, notching up 84 caps in total.

"It's great to be able to field an unchanged team," Meyer told Sky Sports. "We've been able to show some consistency in selection on this tour and that is a good thing. The players have worked extremely hard on the training field and it wasn't easy to select the match 23 for each of the three Tests, but I'm happy that we managed to stick to combinations.”

South Africa team to face England

15 Zane Kirchner
14 JP Pietersen
13 Juan de Jongh
12 Jean de Villiers (captain)
11 Francois Hougaard
10 Pat Lambie
9 Ruan Pienaar

1 Gurthro Steenkamp
2 Adriaan Strauss
3 Jannie du Plessis
4 Eben Etzebeth
5 Juandre Kruger
6 Francois Louw
7 Willem Alberts
8 Duane Vermeulen


16 Schalk Brits
17 Heinke van der Merwe
18 Pat Cilliers
19 Flip van der Merwe
20 Marcell Coetzee
21 Elton Jantjies
22 Jaco Taute
23 Lwazi Mvovo