This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

All Eyes on Sixways for the LV= Cup Final

15 October 2012

  • Sixways to host 2013 LV= Cup Final
  • We are delighted that the tournament organisers and sponsors LV= feel Sixways is the ideal venue - Little, Warriors General Manager
Worcester Warriors will host the 2012 LV= Cup final

Photo: Getty Images

Following the success of the 2011-12 LV= Cup Final between Northampton Saints v Leicester Tigers in March this year, Sixways Stadium, home to Worcester Warriors, is again named as the venue to host the 2012-13 LV= Cup final.

Built in 1975, Sixways Stadium has undergone a series of impressive developments in the past 37-years. Today, Sixways boasts three brand new stands – including the state-of-the-art Slick Systems Stand - and currently in the final stage of construction, a brand new £8m David Lloyd Leisure Centre at the stadium complex.

Located just off the M5, Sixways is easily accessible for supporters of all clubs involved in the LV= Cup and has played host to a number of important fixtures in recent years, including the 2011 Churchill Cup finals day, the 2011 U20 Six Nations Championship and of course, the 2012 and 2010 LV= Cup final.

"...huge achievement for the Warriors" - Little

Speaking on the announcement today, Worcester Warriors Managing Director Charlie Little commented: “To be able to host the LV= Cup Final for a second consecutive year and for a third time in the last four years is a huge achievement for the Warriors.

“We are delighted that the tournament organisers and sponsors LV= feel Sixways is the ideal venue to host the final and that we are continuing to build a reputation for successfully hosting major cup finals and representative fixtures.”

Credited with playing a crucial role in the development of elite players, the LV= Cup involves the twelve Aviva Premiership teams and the four Welsh regions. Past winners include Northampton Saints (2010), Gloucester Rugby (2011) and current title holders are Leicester Tigers.

Claire Jeromson, LV= Head of Sponsorship said:

“Last season’s LV= Cup was a huge success and saw some great young players being showcased in the competition, including the likes of Gloucester’s Jonny May, who won the LV= Breakthrough Player Award and is testament to the talent on display in the domestic game. With Worcester Warriors set to host the final again, I am sure we can expect another exciting conclusion to this year’s LV= Cup”

The 2012-13 LV= Cup Final will take place on Sunday, March 17 2013. Ticket details will follow in due course.