This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Inglis goes toe to toe with Ireland

07 February 2013

  • England Counties name team to play Ireland Club XV
  • 10 new caps and 12 clubs representated in the starting line-up
England Counties

Photo: RFU Archive

James Inglis is one of 10 players making their England Counties debut tomorrow against the Ireland Club XV (7.30pm) – a start made all the sweeter after missing the opportunity three years ago with a broken toe.

The Esher lock will pack down at Cork Constitution FC alongside seven players from different clubs with a total of 12 clubs represented in the starting line-up.

Experience comes in the form of hooker Matt Hall and flanker Dave Allen, who both play in this fixture for the fourth time, and full back Peter Hodgkinson who has featured twice against the men in green.

Captain and fly half Rory Teague, twice man of the match during the tour to East Africa last summer, and Ealing back row Sam Shires make up the five with England Counties caps to their name.

Despite an impressive 34-16 win over Ireland Club XV in Preston last year, the England Counties are still chasing their first win on Irish soil.

'There is belief in this squad' – Bonney

Head Coach Jan Bonney said: “We have momentum from last year and six of those winning players are back in the squad. We are aware of our record in Ireland but we are not thinking about the past. There is belief in this squad and we are focused on playing a game which earns the win tomorrow night. 

“The players have gelled well and because of their quality we have been able to progress quickly in the training sessions. With players coming from different clubs they all bring something different to the party and have ideas to input. We have real strength and variety on the bench to ensure that we maintain the intensity for the full 80 minutes.” 

England Counties v Ireland Club XV, Friday 19:30, Cork Constitution RFC:

15. Peter Hodgkinson*^ (Ealing)
14. Ollie Marchon (Old Albanian)
13. Jack Adams (Cinderford)
12. Scott Barrow (Fylde)
11. Nev Edwards (Rosslyn Park)
10. Rory Teague* (Blackheath)
9. Matt Heeks (Rosslyn Park)
1. Tom Fidler (Cambridge)
2. Matt Hall*^ (Blaydon)
3. Mark George (Stourbridge)
4. Will Warden (Richmond)
5. James Inglis (Esher)
6. Sam Shires*^ (Ealing)
7. Dave Allen*^ (Blackheath)
8. Joe Burton (Loughborough Students)

16. David Dickinson*^(Tynedale)
17. Robbie Kalbraier*^ (Blaydon)
18. Ben West (Cinderford)
19. Billy Johnson* (Old Albanian)
20. Lewis Barker (Coventry)
21. Chris Elder (Esher)
22. Will Hurrell (Stourbridge)

*Previous ECXV Cap (8 players) ^played v Ireland at Preston 2012 (6 players)