This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

VIDEO - Manu in the middle as England make three changes

21 February 2013

  • Hartley, Lawes and Tuilagi all return to starting berths
  • Lancaster keeps continuity in matchday 23 but shuffles the starters

Dylan Hartley, Courtney Lawes and Manusamoa Tuilagi have all been named in the starting line-up for Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations match against France at Twickenham Stadium (5pm, live on BBC One).

Northampton Saints’ Hartley and Lawes replace Tom Youngs and James Haskell, who move to the bench, while Tuilagi takes over from Billy Twlevetrees, with the Gloucester Rugby centre also among the replacements.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “We thought long and hard about changing a winning team which did so well against Ireland. But we believe that Dylan, Courtney and Manu are ready for the opportunity and allow us to vary our play, while the bench will add impact and energy as the game unfolds in the second half.

"The players are really looking forward to getting back to Twickenham; the atmosphere in the stadium is fantastic and hopefully the crowd can get behind us in what is sure to be a great challenge against a motivated and physical French team."

France coach Phillipe Saint-Andre has made eight changes to his starting line-up to face England on Saturday with Morgan Parra and Francois Trinh-Duc set to start. 

England Team to face France

15. Alex Goode (Saracens, 8 caps) 
14. Chris Ashton (Saracens, 31 caps) 
13. Brad Barritt (Saracens, 13 caps) 
12. Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 18 caps)
11. Mike Brown (Harlequins, 13 caps)
10. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 14 caps) 
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 30 caps)

1. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 7 caps) 
2. Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 44 caps) 
3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 37 caps) 
4. Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 6 caps) 
5. Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers, 14 caps) 
6. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 17 caps)
7. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt, 14 caps) 
8. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 11 caps)

16. Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 6 caps) 
17. David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 24 caps) 
18. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 6 caps) 
19. James Haskell (London Wasps, 47 caps)
20. Thomas Waldrom (Leicester Tigers, 5 caps)
21. Danny Care (Harlequins, 38 caps)
22. Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers, 54 caps)
23. Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 2 caps)