This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

RFU appoints RWC legacy Chairs

04 January 2013

  • RFU announces Chairs of six RWC 2015 Regional Activation and Legacy Groups
  • Two former England captains among appointments
Action from a youth match

Photo: RFU Archive

The Rugby Football Union has announced the appointment of six Chairs of the Regional Activation and Legacy Groups established to support the RFU in its aim to deliver a strong and effective legacy beyond 2015.

The Chairs, which include former England Captains Fran Cotton and Peter Wheeler, will be responsible for working closely with RFU management, RFU Constituent Bodies (CBs), and the England Rugby 2015 team to oversee the development and implementation of a robust activation and legacy plan. The groups will mirror the six RFU regional areas, and RFU area managers will be central to the effective delivery of the groups.

The groups will help to execute the seven national legacy strands – Better facilities, Investing in people, More schools, Returning players, Touch rugby, Other nations and Cultural engagement – previously outlined by the RFU to deliver the greatest participation legacy for the game, as well as supporting ER 2015 in operational areas of the tournament.

RFU Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “Hosting the Rugby World Cup in less than three years gives us an incredible opportunity to grow the game. Our plans to ensure we build an effective legacy are already well underway and today’s appointment of six chairs to lead our Regional Activation and Legacy Groups is an important next step. They will all bring a wealth of experience and relevant skills to the role, adding value to the local delivery work of our CBs and staff.”

The role of chair is voluntary and individuals are committed up until April 2016.

Andy Cosslett, ER 2015 Chairman added: “The Rugby World Cup is the biggest event in Rugby Union. The work of the Regional Legacy Groups will be key to us delivering an unforgettable tournament that makes the most of this unique opportunity to build the strength and appeal of the game.”

Regional Activation and Legacy Groups

Area 1: Cornwall, Somerset, Devon, Dorset and Wiltshire, Gloucestershire – Chris Booy

Area 2: Middlesex, Hants, Oxfordshire, Bucks, Berks, Herts – Vic Luck

Area 3: Kent, Sussex, Surrey, Essex – Roger Clarke 

Area 4: Notts, Lincs & Derbs, Eastern Counties, Leicestershire, E. Midlands, Warwickshire – Peter Wheeler

Area 5: Lancashire, Cheshire, Staffs, N. Midlands – Fran Cotton

Area 6: Northumberland, Durham, Yorkshire, Cumbria – Robin Wannop