This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Midlands six in British Police squad

10 January 2013

  • Five West Midlands players in line to face Army
  • Chris Scott for debut at Aldershot

Six Midlands players have been included in the British Police squad for their match against the Army at the Army Rugby Stadium in Aldershot on January 23 (6pm).

Chris Scott, who kicked West Midlands to victory in last season’s British Police Cup final, is in line to make his debut for British Police.

Scott, a centre who can also play fly half, plays his Saturday rugby at Earlsdon and he been named in the squad alongside his West Midlands team-mates Toby Handley, Marc Marren, Richard Stott and Francis Nock.

The squad also includes Nottinghamshire Police’s Llyr Griffiths who plays in the back row for Nuneaton in National Three Midlands.

The Army match will be the second outing of the season for British Police who were narrowly beaten by Ireland Police in Cardiff last month.

Selection for the British Police tour to Hong Kong, which include a match against Australian Police on May 31, will be made after the Army game.

British Police squad

Backs: Lewis Vague (Devon & Cornwall), Tom Llewellyn (Gloucestershire), Alex Clemie (Greater Manchester), Gareth Williams (Gwent), Jon McCloud (Humberside), Sam Johnson (Lothian & Borders), Mike Campbell (Lothian & Borders), Tim Green (Metropolitan), Ceri Young (South Wales), Ryan Moffat (Strathclyde), Toby Handley (West Midlands), Marc Marren (West Midlands), Chris Scott (West Midlands).

Forwards: Mike Blakeburn (British Transport Police), Pete Kolakowski (Cambridgeshire), Stephen Neill (Central Scotland), James Grimes (City of London), Ben Cole (Devon & Cornwall), Alun Davies (Dyfed Powys), John Stringer (Gwent), Nick Blake (Gwent), David Cunningham (Lothian & Borders), Ally Vanner (Metropolitan), Jake Lock (Metropolitan), Llyr Griffiths (Nottinghamshire), Steve Rutledge (Police Service of Northern Ireland), Dave Houston (PSNI), Richard Stott (West Midlands), Francis Nock (West Midlands).