This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

VIDEO – Five new faces make England Saxons debuts in Galway

24 January 2013

  • Daly, Tomkins, Ford, Kruis and Fraser make Saxons debuts
  • Leicester No.8 Crane handed captaincy for Galway test

Five players make their debuts for England Saxons against the O2 Ireland Wolfhounds at Galway on Friday night (7.35pm).

Elliot Daly (London Wasps), Joel Tomkins (Saracens) and George Ford (Leicsester Tigers) are in the back line of a young Saxons outfit while Saracens pair George Kruis and Will Fraser start in the back row at The Sportsground.

The replacements also set to make their first appearances at this level are former England Under 20 forwards Rob Buchanan (Harlequins), Shaun Knight (Gloucester Rugby) and ex-Rugby League international Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby).

Joel Tomkins training with England Saxons 

Photo: Getty Images

Jordan Crane (Leicester Tigers) will captain the side after helping steer his club into the quarter finals of the Heineken Cup last weekend.

Crane is one of six full internationals in the team along with Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors), Paul Doran Jones (Northampton Saints), Joe Simpson (London Wasps), Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins) and Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens).

Head coach Jon Callard said: “This is a dynamic young side with an average age of less than 24 and the players have a chance to show that they can play a major part of the future of England Rugby over the coming years. The blend of forward power and pace in the back line makes it an exciting one to be involved with.

“We’re facing an experienced Irish side in this opening game and the challenge is to step up and deliver a high quality performance in front of a passionate crowd in Galway.”

After facing the Wolfhounds away from home the Saxons return to England to take on Scotland A at Newcastle on Friday, February 1 (8pm).

England Saxons

15 Elliot Daly (London Wasps)
14 Christian Wade (London Wasps)
13 Joel Tomkins (Saracens)
12 Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)
11 Tom Biggs (Bath Rugby)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
9 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)
1 Nick Wood (Gloucester Rugby)
2 Joe Gray (Harlequins)
3 Paul Doran-Jones (Northampton Saints)
4 Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers)
5 George Robson (Harlequins)
6 George Kruis (Saracens)
7 Will Fraser (Saracens)
8 Jordan Crane (Leicester Tigers, captain)

16 Rob Buchanan (Harlequins)
17 Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors)
18 Shaun Knight (Gloucester Rugby)
19 Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)
20 Jamie Gibson (London Irish)
21 Joe Simpson (London Wasps)
22 George Lowe (Harlequins)
23 Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)