This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Scotland team to face England at Twickenham

29 January 2013

  • Maitland to get debut on wing against England
  • Scottish coach Johnson makes six changes since Tonga loss
Lamont will play in the centres

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Sean Maitland will make his debut for Scotland at Twickenham on Saturday against England after interim head coach Scott Johnson named six changes from the team that lost to Tonga in the autumn.

New Zealand-born Maitland will line up alongside Glasgow team-mate Dougie Hall who makes his first start in six years for his country at hooker. Montpellier No.8 Johnnie Beattie will also return to the starting line-up for the first time since Scotland’s warm up win over Ireland in the 2011 World Cup.

The powerful Sean Lamont will switch from the wing to outside centre while Ruaridh Jackson returns at fly half. Greg Laidlaw will start at scrum half for the first time in his international career.

In the front row Euan Murray will pick up his 50th cap, while Ryan Grant is restored at loose head. Jim Hamilton and Richie Gray will make up the Scotland second row.

"I've spoken about the importance of this competition, the history and tradition of it, and you couldn't get a more mouth-watering opening than the game between international rugby's oldest foes," said Johnson.

"Selection for us has been about form but also with an eye to the future. Sean Maitland is very proud to be pulling on the Scotland jersey for the first time. His family will be rapt because they raised him in New Zealand always reminding him of his Scottish heritage, getting up in the early hours of the morning to watch both the Five and Six Nations games on the TV.

"He's shown he can play footy with the best of them and the impact he's made since arriving at Glasgow in the autumn has underlined what we'd seen of him playing for the Crusaders in Super Rugby."

Scotland Team to face England

15 Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors)
14 Sean Maitland (Glasgow Warriors)
13 Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors)
12 Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby)
11 Tim Visser (Edinburgh Rugby)
10 Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby)

1 Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors)
2 Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors)
3 Euan Murray (Worcester Warriors)
4 Richie Gray (Sale Sharks)
5 Jim Hamilton (Gloucester Rugby)
6 Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan)
7 Kelly Brown (C) (Saracens)
8 Johnnie Beattie (Montpellier)


16 Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby)
17 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors)
18 Geoff Cross (Edinburgh Rugby)
19 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors)
20 David Denton (Edinburgh Rugby)
21 Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors)
22 Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors)
23 Max Evans (Castres)