This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Twelvetrees in match day 23 to face Scotland

29 January 2013

  • Uncapped centre Billy Twelvetrees retained for Scotland clash
  • 23 players will reassemble at Pennyhill Park on Wednesday evening
Gloucester Rugby centre Billy Twelvetrees, who will make his first appearance in England's match day squad against Scotland

Photo: Getty Images

Uncapped Gloucester Rugby centre Billy Twelvetrees is part of England’s match day squad for the RBS 6 Nations opener against Scotland at Twickenham. 

The 24-year-old, who moved to the Cherry and Whites from Leicester Tigers last summer, is among 23 players retained by Head Coach Stuart Lancaster to prepare for Saturday’s game, which kicks-off at 4pm.

Notable returnees include hooker Dylan Hartley, who has recovered from the knee injury which kept him out of the QBE Internationals, wing David Strettle and fly half Toby Flood, who missed out on the New Zealand game with an injured ligament in his toe.

While not in contention for the Calcutta Cup clash, centre Manu Tuilagi will remain with the squad for treatment on his injured ankle, meaning Lancaster has released nine players back to their clubs this evening, including full back Ben Foden and centre Jonathan Joseph.

Lancaster said: “We’ve had to make some tough calls with a lot of competition for places.

The players’ attitude and application in training has been first rate and we know those going back to their clubs and playing in the LV= Cup will be pushing hard for contention for the Ireland match.”

Interim Scotland Head Coach Scott Johnson named a side showing six changes earlier today. Lancaster will name his starting line-up at 10.15am on Thursday morning, with an exclusive RFUtv interview discussing who he has chosen and why.

England match day squad to face Scotland

Forwards (13)

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
James Haskell (London Wasps)
Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)
Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
David Wilson (Bath Rugby)
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Backs (10)

Chris Ashton (Saracens)
Brad Barritt (Saracens)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
Alex Goode (Saracens)
David Strettle (Saracens)
Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers) will remain with the squad for treatment.

The following players have been released back to their Aviva Premiership clubs:

Mouritz Botha (Saracens)
Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
Jonathan Joseph (London Irish)
Matt Kvesic (Worcester Warriors)
Ugo Monye (Harlequins)
Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks)
Billy Vunipola (London Wasps)
Thomas Waldrom (Leicester Tigers)