This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Marland puts in the Yardes to join Joe Trayfoot on the LV= Breakthrough Player Award shortlist

31 January 2013

  • Yarde and Trayfoot join shortlist
  • “Marland’s performance was electric,” Brian Smith
LV= Breakthrough Player Award

Photo: RFU Archive

The LV= Breakthrough Player Award shortlist has reached the penultimate stage, with two further players added to the previous nominees from Round 1 and 2.

London Irish’s Marland Yarde and Harlequins’ Joe Trayfoot join Luke Wallace, Jamie Elliott, Tom Heathcote and Sam Lewis on the shortlist.

Fresh from his impressive performance for the Exiles in their Round 3 win over Worcester, Marland Yarde’s match statistics reflect the winger’s efforts, including two clean line breaks, three dominant carries and evading six tackles. The 20-year-old was the top metre-maker of all players on the pitch, with 90m over the gainline to his name. He also made seven tackles at a 100% success rate, including winning a turnover.

London Irish’s Director of Rugby, Brian Smith, admitted he was particularly impressed with Yarde.

“Marland’s performance was electric,” Smith told reporters. “There is not another winger in the country who would have scored that try. It was as if his hair was on fire.”

LV= Breakthrough Player Award

Photo: RFU Archive

Just in time for his 22nd birthday next week, Harlequins back-row Joe Trayfoot joins Yarde on the shortlist after an equally notable performance in Round 3 of the LV= Cup.

Harlequins produced a comfortable win over Premiership newcomers London Welsh in a game that saw Trayfoot take centre stage, displaying 11 tackles and 10 ball carries. He completed two initial line breaks, beat a defender and made a nuisance of himself at the breakdown to make his mark on the game at The Stoop.

About the LV= Cup Breakthrough Player Award

The LV= Cup Breakthrough Player Award was launched in September 2011 and is designed to recognise the wealth of impressive young talent on show in the competition. Gloucester’s Jonny May took home the inaugural title after making his mark in the competition last season.

Two players from each round, along with two ‘wildcard’ players, who have strong overall competition statistics will form a shortlist, which will be submitted to a fan vote on Fans will vote for the winner of the LV= Breakthrough Player Award from the end of Round 4 until midnight after the second semi-final. The winner will be announced prior to the LV=Cup Final and LV= will donate £1,000 to a grassroots rugby initiative of their choice.

The LV= Cup: watch the next generation break through. For tickets and info, visit