This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

VIDEO – Twelvetrees makes first England start against Scotland

31 January 2013

  • Billy Twelvetrees will make England debut against Scotland at Twickenham
  • Joe Marler in for injured Alex Corbisiero at loose head in only other change

Billy Twelvetrees will make his England debut an inside centre in Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations match against Scotland at Twickenham Stadium (4pm, live on BBC One).

The Gloucester Rugby No.12 comes in for Manu Tuilagi, who has an ankle strain, while Harlequins loose head prop Joe Marler replaces Alex Corbisiero, who will miss the entire tournament after knee surgery.

They are the only two personnel changes from the victory over New Zealand last time out, with Brad Barritt shifting to outside centre to accommodate Twelvetrees.

Experience is added to England’s bench with hooker Dylan Hartley and fly half Toby Flood returning after injury to replace David Paice and Freddie Burns respectively. David Strettle provides wing cover from the replacements bench in place of Jonathan Joseph.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “We are happy to stick with the team that did so well against New Zealand, especially in light of the fact that they have all been in good form for their clubs since then.

“There were some very tight calls, with some experienced players coming back into contention, and I am sure the bench will have a significant impact on the game.

"We can't wait to get back to Twickenham and hopefully experience the same atmosphere as the autumn when the crowd was superb. It means a lot to the players to have such support in the ground and watching on television."

England team to face Scotland

15. Alex Goode (Saracens, 6 caps) 
14. Chris Ashton (Saracens, 29 caps) 
13. Brad Barritt (Saracens, 11 caps) 
12. Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 0 caps)
11. Mike Brown (Harlequins, 11 caps)
10. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 12 caps) 
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 28 caps)

1. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 5 caps) 
2. Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 4 cap) 
3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 35 caps) 
4. Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 4 caps) 
5. Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers, 12 caps) 
6. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 13 caps)
7. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt, 12 caps) 
8. Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 9 caps)

16. Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 42 caps) 
17. David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 22 caps) 
18. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 4 caps) 
19. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 15 caps)
20. James Haskell (London Wasps, 45 caps)
21. Danny Care (Harlequins, 37 caps)
22. Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers, 53 caps)
23. David Strettle (Saracens, 12 caps)