This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Western Force rest regulars for Lions

04 June 2013

  • Michael Foley fields understrength side with Waratahs match in mind
  • Only two of team that started against the Highlanders are selected in XV
Western Force captain Matt Hodgson

Photo: Getty Images

Matt Hodgson will captain an understrength Western Force on Wednesday against the British and Irish Lions at Paterson Stadium in Perth.

Six-cap Wallaby Hodgson is one of five Test players in Head Coach Michael Foley’s starting line-up, the others being Salesi Ma'afu, Richard Brown, Brett Sheehan and Sam Norton-Knight.

Former All Black scrum half Alby Mathewson is on the bench as many regulars are rested for Sunday’s Super 15 clash with the New South Wales Waratahs.

In fact, only skipper Hodgson and lock Toby Lynn started the Force’s last domestic league match – a 19-18 defeat of the Highlanders ten days ago that secured 13th place for the Western Australia outfit.

Foley said on the official Force website: "The Lions match represents a special occasion for the players involved and everyone was keen to put their hands up for selection.

"From the outset we recognised the need to approach this week as an entire squad. To that end, every available member of our squad, a number from our wider training group and club players from Perth and elsewhere will get opportunities.

"We've included some of our most experienced players to provide leadership against a Lions squad we have a great deal of respect for."

Western Force side to face the British and Irish Lions on Wednesday, June 5 (kick-off 11:00am BST:

1. Salesi Manu, 2. James Hilterbrand, 3. Salesi Ma'afu, 4. Toby Lynn, 5. Phoenix Battye, 6. Angus Cottrell, 7. Matt Hodgson (c), 8. Richard Brown; 9. Brett Sheehan, 10. Sam Norton-Knight, 11. Corey Brown, 12. Chris Tuatara-Morrison, 13. Ed Stubbs, 14. Dane Haylett-Petty, 15. Sam Christie.

Replacements: 16. Hugh Roach, 17. Sione Kolo, 18. Tim Metcher, 19. Ben Matwijow, 20. Lachlan McCaffrey, 21. Alby Mathewson, 22. Nick Haining, 23. Junior Rasolea.