This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Four changes for England Under 20s for SA clash

08 June 2013

  • England Under 20 make four changes ahead of second JWC game
  • It’ll be a really good Test match – Head Coach Nick Walshe

England U20 ready to take on SA

Photo: IRB

England Under 20s have made four changes from the side that beat France 30-6 for their second IRB Junior World Championship game against South Africa at the Stade Henri Desgrange in La Roche-sur-Yon, live on Sky Sports HD, kick off 3.45pm (GMT).

Wing Jack Nowell, scrum half Alex Day, prop Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi and flanker Ross Moriarty all come into the side for the crucial Pool A clash and Head Coach Nick Walshe says that it will be a real challenge against the defending champions.

He said: “They are a quality side – they obviously played well in their opening game against the USA, winning 97-0, so we’re under no illusions. They are big and they are physical and it’ll be a really good Test match.

“We had a tough game against France, but the guys have recovered well, they have trained well and we just can’t wait to get out there. There’s obviously a balance between focusing on ourselves and focusing on the opposition, but we’re a good side and if we perform like I know we can then the result will take care of itself.”

England Under 20 starting XV to play South Africa

15 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby) 14 Ben Howard (Worcester Warriors) 13 Harry Sloan (Harlequins) 12 Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs) 11 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs) 10 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs) 9 Alex Day (Northampton Saints) 1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampton Saints) 2 Luke Cowan Dickie (Exeter Chiefs) 3 Scott Wilson (Newcastle Falcons) 4 Elliott Stooke (Gloucester Rugby) 5 Dominic Barrow (Leeds Carnegie) 6 Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby) 7 Matt Hankin (Saracens) 8 Jack Clifford (Harlequins) (c)


16 Scott Spurling (Saracens) 17 Alec Hepburn (London Wasps) 18 Tom Smallbone (London Irish) 19 Tom Price (Leicester Tigers) 20 Joel Conlon (Exeter Chiefs) 21 Callum Braley (Bristol Rugby) 22 Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby) 23 Henry Purdy (Leicester Tigers)