This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England U20s make wholesale changes for USA clash

12 June 2013

  • Northampton Saints scrum half Alex Day captains side
  • Bonus point imperative against the USA in final group game
England Under 20s were defeated 31-24 by South Africa 

Photo: Getty Images

England Under 20s have made 11 changes from the side that lost 31-24 to South Africa for their final IRB Junior World Championship group game against USA at the Stade Henri Desgrange in La Roche-sur-Yon, live on Sky Sports HD (kick-off 5.45pm (BST).

With a semi-final spot still up for grabs, England need to ensure a bonus-point victory to stand any chance of progressing.

Northampton Saints scrum half Alex Day captains the side for the first team, and is relishing the opportunity.

He said: “It’s a massive honour to named captain for this game. It’s something that you dream of when you’re little and to achieve it is pretty exciting – I’m massively proud and I just want to go out there and do a good job.

“We’re staying in the same hotel as the USA and we know that they’re going to be up for it, but we’ve prepared well and we’re looking forward to the game.”

With seven changes coming in the pack alone, Forwards Coach Ian Peel explained why he has freshened it up.

He said: “We’ve had two really physical Tests [against France and South Africa] and we just wanted to freshen things up. The guys who we’ve brought in have been coming off the bench and now it’s their turn to start and make an impact from the get-go. We’ve got a really strong squad we want to use everybody – it keeps bodies fresh and we have full confidence in the whole squad.”

England Under 20 side to face USA

15. Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby)
14. Ben Howard (Worcester Warriors)
13. Tom Stephenson (Northampton Saints)
12. Harry Sloan (Harlequins)
11. Henry Purdy (Leicester Tigers)
10. Will Hooley (Northampton Saints)
9. Alex Day (Northampton Saints, captain)
1. Alec Hepburn (London Wasps)
2. Scott Spurling (Saracens)
3. Tom Smallbone (London Irish)
4. Harry Wells (Leicester Tigers)
5. Tom Price (Leicester Tigers)
6. Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby)
7. Joel Conlon (Exeter Chiefs)
8. David Sisi (Bath Rugby)


16. Nathan Morris (London Wasps)
17. Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampton Saints)
18. Scott Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)
19. Dominic Barrow (Leeds Carnegie)
20. Jack Clifford (Harlequins)
21. Callum Braley (Bristol Rugby)
22. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
23. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)