This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Lions Wade, Twelvetrees and Barritt face Brumbies

17 June 2013

  • Trio of England arrivals join fray alongside Shane Williams
  • Rory Best captains side in Canberra
Christian Wade 

Photo: Getty Images

Christian Wade, Billy Twelvetrees and Brad Barritt are all named in the British and Irish Lions side to face the Brumbies on Tuesday.

Former Wales wing Shane Williams is anothter shock inclusion in the team for Tuesday's game against the in Canberra.

The 36-year-old, who is Wales' record try-scorer, is currently playing in Japan for Mitsubishi Dynaboars after retiring from international rugby in December 2011.

He has previously toured New Zealand and South Africa with the Lions in 2005 and 2009 respectively and was travelling to Australia to do media work.

The surprise call-up sees Williams, who will leave the squad on Wednesday, feature in a backline that also includes backs Wade and Twelvetrees, who have been called up as injury cover from England's tour of Argentina.

Lions head coach Warren Gatland said: "We said we needed Shane for one game. He is already on his way here.

"We spoke to him and said the proviso is he comes into the squad on Monday and leaves the squad on Wednesday. He is happy with that.

"He's in pretty good nick, he's been boxing as well, hopefully that won't be needed on Tuesday. I'm sure he'll come in and do himself and the jersey proud."

Ireland full-back Rob Kearney also makes his first start of the tour, while Scotland's Stuart Hogg makes his second apperance of the trip at fly-half and lock Richie Gray returns from a shoulder injury.

The Lions will be captained by Ireland hooker Rory Best.

The hosts have selected an extremely strong team full of Super 15 experience, especially across the back three where Clyde Rathbone, Henry Speight and Jesse Mogg start.

British and Irish Lions side to face the Brumbies on Tuesday, June 18 (kick-off 10:40am BST): 15. Rob Kearney; 14. Christian Wade, 13. Brad Barritt,12. Billy Twelvetrees,11. Shane Williams; 10. Stuart Hogg, 9. Ben Youngs; 1. Ryan Grant, 2. Rory Best (captain), 3. Matt Stevens, 4. Ian Evans, 5. Ryan Gray, 6. Sean O'Brien, 7. Justin Tipuric, 8. Toby Faletau.

Replacements: 16. Richard Hibbard, 17. Alex Corbisiero, 18. Dan Cole, 19. Geoff Parling, 20. Dan Lydiate, 21. Conor Murray, 22. Owen Farrell, 23. Simon Zebo.

Brumbies: 15. Jesse Mogg, 14. Henry Speight, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 12. Andrew Smith, 11. Clyde Rathbone, 10. Matt Toomua, 9. Ian Prior; 1. Ruan Smith, 2. Siliva Siliva, 3. Scott Sio, 4. Leon Power, 5. Sam Carter, 6 Scott Fardy, 7 Colby Faingaa, 8 Peter Kimlin (captain).

Replacements:16. Josh Mann-Rea, 17. Jean-Pierre Smith, 18. Chris Cocca, 19. Etienne Oosthuizen, 20. Jordan Smiler, 21. Mark Swanepoel, 22. Robbie Coleman, 23. Zack Holmes.