This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Midlands Under 20s training squad announced

04 March 2013

  • Midlands to face Irish Exiles in warm-up
  • Midlands start training for development weekend

The Midlands Under 20s selectors have named a 34-strong squad to prepare for this season’s Divisional Development weekend at Welbeck College in Leicestershire from March 29-31.

The Midlands squad, which was selected following the pool stage of this season’s National Under 20 Championship and Shield competitions, will train at Barkers’ Butts RFC over the next three Wednesdays.

The Midlands will reduce their squad to 22 ahead of a training match against the Irish Exiles at Moseley’s Billesley Common ground on Sunday, March 24.

The Welbeck weekend will form the final stage in selection for this season’s England Counties Under 20s side, who are scheduled to tour Georgia during the summer.

Midlands Under 20s squad

Backs: Will Jones (Wolverhampton and Staffordshire), DeLaRey Veenendaal (Cambridge and East Midlands), Jim Wigglesworth (Hull and NLD), Ali Adams-Cairns (Oxford University), Joe Cantwell (Northampton BBOB and East Midlands), Alex Rumsey (Luctonians and North Midlands), Grant Ward (Kesteven and NLD), Jake Roome (Derby and NLD), Lewis Hancock (Derby and NLD), Curtis Tonks (Leamington and Warwickshire), Will Affleck (Luton and East Midlands), Will Dace (Oxford University), Angus Hopewell (Towcestrians and East Midlands), Sam Pointon (Loughborough University and East Midlands), Matt Shorthose (Oxford University)

Forwards: Gino Belmonte (Bromsgrove and North Midlands), Ryan Taylor (Bedford Athletic and East Midlands), Curtis Green (Trentham and Staffordshire), Owen Whittle (Broadstreet and Warwickshire), Sam Alderson (Cambridge University), Will Allard (Bedford Athletic and East Midlands), Josh McNulty (Barkers’ Butts and Warwickshire), Scott Arroyo-Hover (Bedford Athletic and East Midlands), Seb Clarke (Bedford Blues Academy and East Midlands), Nathan Parker (Newport and North Midlands), Jack Neal (Burntwood and Staffordshire), Rudi Reid (Old Laurentians and Warwickshire), Jack Morphet (Old Laurentians and Warwickshire), Louis Rawlings (Shelford and East Midlands), Jake Bates (Newport and North Midlands), Henry Hughes (Oxford University), James Thomson (Cambridge University), Fraser Heathcote (Oxford University), Rhys Morgan (Wolverhampton and Staffordshire)


IBM TryTracker