This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Carter called up by Midlands Women

06 March 2013

  • Warwickshire scrum half in squad to face South West
  • Midlands Under 18s change squad for trip to Frome

Midlands Women have called up newcomer Rebecca Carter as scrum half cover for their Divisional Match against the South West at Frome RFC on Sunday, March 10 (KO, 12.30pm).

Carter, of Old Leamingtonians and Warwickshire, has been added to the squad after the Midlands were beaten 32-0 by London & South East last weekend.

“After a much improved performance against London & SE, the Senior side go into their final game against the South West looking for further improvement,” said James Cooper, RFU Divisional Talent Development Officer for the Midlands.

“Staying true to the aim of the programme – development – players will have played in their preferred position to allow them to perform and showcase their skills.

“Another new player will be used in this game. Rebecca Carter is called into the squad as scrum half cover. This final game will help shape the content of the eight satellite sessions for the Senior squad, which now follow on after the competition phase.”

Midlands Under 18s are also in action again this weekend, against the South West at Frome (12.30pm) and they have brought in nine new players among 14 changes to the squad that faced the North last month.

“The coaches are allowing the players the chance to experience and develop in the Divisional programme and build on the skill work done in camp,” Cooper said.” This will be a tough game for the Under 18s as they come up against a South West side, also with a number of changes, who will want to show their quality.”

The Divisional Programme started in 2010 and is crucial in developing talent to improve rugby at all levels of the women’s and girls’ player pathway, with the objective of producing future England internationals at XVs and Sevens.

Played across three age groups in England’s four divisions - North, Midlands, London & South East and South West – the programme provides a challenging, high-quality performance environment within each Division, enabling individual development of players who have the potential, ambition and commitment to become the best they can be.

The delivery of the Divisional programme is overseen nationally by the RFU Player Development Manager (PDM) and divisionally by RFU DTDOs.

Players who have graduated from the Divisional Programme through to the England Elite Player Squad include Emily Braund, Ceri Large, Amber Reed, Jenny Brightmore, Lauren Cattell, Hannah Gallagher, Kate Newton, Sally Tuson, Ruth Laybourne and Alex Matthews.

Midlands Senior Women
15 Nancy Stone (C) (Lichfield & North Mids)
14 Sam Bree (Worcester & North Mids)
13 Fiona Beaumont (Saracens & East Midlands)
12 Laura Dowsett (Lichfield & Staffordshire)
11 Carys Williams (Lichfield & Staffordshire)
10 Rosie Mankee (Longton & Staffordshire)
9 Jess Robinson (Loughborough & Leicestershire)

1 Emma Lumley (Wasps & Notts, Lincs & Derby)
2 Steph Warner (Moseley & North Mids)
3 Bethan Arthur (Nottingham BC Ladies & Notts, Lincs & Derby)
4 Siobhan Ashton-Cleary (Lichfield & Notts, Lincs & Derby)
5 Kerry McCormick (Moseley & North Mids)
6 Laura Turner (Stoneygate & Leicestershire)
7 Caley Parnell (VC) (Lichfield & Staffordshire)
8 Fiona Fletcher (Lichfield & Staffordshire)

16 Dannielle Allen (Loughborough & Leicestershire)
17 Chelsea Fuggle (Lichfield & Staffordshire)
18 Rena Nelson (unattached, Staffordshire)
19 Sam Voyle (University of Birmingham & North Mids)
20 Francesca Strong (University of Birmingham & North Mids)
21 Rebecca Carter (Old Leamingtonians & Warwickshire)

Midlands Under 18s
15 Eve Morton (Paviors and NLD)
14 Emma Harbage (Lichfield and Staffordshire)
13 Emily Davis (Paviors and NLD)
12 Leilah Mills (Aylestone St James and Leicestershire)
11 Hetty Swan (Worcester and North Midlands)
10 Sarah Nicholas (Lichfield and Staffordshire)
9 Kelly Smith (Worcester and North Midlands)

1 Chloe Robinson (Lichfield and Staffordshire)
2 Rebecca Noon (Lichfield and Staffordshire)
3 Katie Trevarthen (Paviors and NLD)
4 Evie Probert (Old Northamptonians and East Midlands)
5 Philippa Theobald-Roe (St Neots and East Midlands)
6 Georgia Bradley (Lichfield and Staffordshire)
7 Lark Davies (Worcester and North Midlands)
8 Holly Donnelly-Bush (Paviors and NLD)

16 Hollie Weston (Old Northamptonians and East Midlands)
17 Amy Wigley (Worcester and North Midlands)
18 Rebekah Penrice-Randall (Worcester and North Midlands
19 Phoebe Jay (Lichfield and Staffordshire)
20 Ellie Batten Melton (Market Harborough and Leicestershire)
21 Bethany James (Paviors and NLD)
22 Ella Halcrow (Old Northamptonians and East Midlands)