This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

VIDEO - Farrell in for Cardiff crunch

14 March 2013

  • Fly half returns from injury for Championship decider
  • Youngs, Marler and Croft also named in starting XV

Owen Farrell returns to the England starting line-up for Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations title decider against Wales at the Millennium Stadium (5pm, live on BBC One).

The Saracens man takes over at fly half and will be joined by Ben Youngs at scrum half, while Youngs' Leicester Tigers team-mate Toby Flood and Danny Care are among the replacements.

There are two changes to the pack that started against Italy with Joe Marler replacing Mako Vunipola at loose-head prop and Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers) starting at blindside flanker in place of Wasps' James Haskell.

England Head Coach, Stuart Lancaster, said: “As a whole squad we have come a long way through the QBE series and the Six Nations and we want to finish the job on what will be a fantastic occasion in Cardiff. Every single player, whether they are in the 23 or not this Saturday, has contributed to getting us in this position and they should be proud of that.

“As coaches we have had to make some tough calls but this is a squad effort and I know those not involved will, like the whole nation, be behind us come 5 o’clock.”

England (v Wales, Saturday, 5pm, Millennium Stadium, live on BBC One) 
15. Alex Goode (Saracens, 10 caps) 
14. Chris Ashton (Saracens, 33 caps) 
13. Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 20 caps)
12. Brad Barritt (Saracens, 15 caps)
11. Mike Brown (Harlequins, 15 caps) 
10. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 15 caps)
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 32 caps)

1. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 9 caps) 
2. Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 8 caps) 
3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 39 caps) 
4. Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 8 caps) 
5. Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers, 16 caps) 
6. Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers, 37 caps)  
7. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt, 16 caps) 
8. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 17 caps) 

16. Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 46 caps) 
17. David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 25 caps) 
18. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 8 caps) 
19. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 19 caps)
20. James Haskell (London Wasps, 49 caps) 
21. Danny Care (Harlequins, 40 caps)
22. Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers, 56 caps)
23. Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 3 caps)

The latest episode of O2 Inside Line – the behind-the-scenes show from inside the England camp – is now out. To watch visit or text INSIDE to 61202.


IBM TryTracker