This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

VIDEO - England U18 make sweeping changes for FIRA semi-final

25 March 2013

  • England U18 make 11 changes for Tuesday's Scotland clash
  • FIRA/AER European Championship semi-final takes place in France (KO 6pm GMT)


England Under 18 have made 11 changes to the side that beat Portugal 82-8 for Tuesday’s FIRA/AER European Championship semi-final against Scotland in France, KO 6pm (GMT).

England played Scotland on March 3 in Darlington, scoring nine tries in a 57-12 win, but Forwards Coach Pete Walton is well aware that England will need to match that level of performance.

Pete Walton

Photo: Tania Richards

He said: “We enjoyed a good win against Portugal, there are areas to work on, but we scored 14 tries so there are a lot of positives to take out of it. We had a lot of fresh faces in the squad and they all gelled together very well.

“We know that Scotland have improved since we last played them, and we played very well that day, so it’s up to us to match that performance, or better it.”

England U18 starting XV to play Scotland
15. Howard Packman (Northampton Saints & Moulton College)
14. Tom Howe (London Wasps & Shiplake College)
13. Nick Tompkins (Saracens & Oaklands College)
12. Rory Jennings (Bath Rugby & Bryanston School)
11. Tom Fowlie (London Irish & St Paul's Catholic College)
10. Josh Sharp (Saracens & Oaklands College)
9. Stuart Townsend (Exeter Chiefs & Ivybridge College)

1. Luke Chapman (Exeter Chiefs & Truro College)
2. Jack Walker (Leeds Carnegie & Prince Henry’s Grammar)
3. Paul Hill (Leeds Carnegie & Prince Henry’s Grammar)
4. Jordan Onojaife (Northampton Saints & Stowe School)
5. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby & Bryanston School)
6. Andrew Hughes (Sale Sharks & Hartpury College)
7. Andrew Boyce (Worcester Warriors & Kings Worcester)
8. James Chisholm (Harlequins & Brighton College) (c)

16. Sam James (Saracens & Bishops Stortford)
17. Lewis Boyce (Leeds Carnegie & Prince Henry’s Grammar)
18. Neale Farthing (Leicester Tigers & Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth College)
19. Josh Peters (Northampton Saints & Oundle School)
20. Matt Bolwell (Exeter Chiefs & Truro College)
21. James Mitchell (Sale Sharks & Lymm School)
22. Josh Skelcey (Northampton Saints & Moulton College)
23. Louis Clayton-Molloy (London Wasps & Harrow School)