This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England handed tough test in Marriott London Sevens draw

06 May 2013

  • Fiji, Samoa and Argentina are day one opponents at Twickenham Stadium
  • Places on next season's HSBC Sevens World Series also at stake for qualifiers
James Rodwell gets to grips with Fiji

Photo: Getty Images

England have been handed a tough assignment in the pool draw for this weekend’s Marriott London Sevens.

Ben Ryan’s side will face Fiji, Samoa and Argentina in Pool C on the opening day at Twickenham Stadium in the final leg of this season’s HSBC Sevens World Series.

Glasgow Sevens champions South Africa are in Pool A with the USA, Australia and France, while series champions New Zealand are in Pool B with Wales, Canada and Kenya.

England Sevens Head Coach Ryan said: “These are three tough games against strong opponents we know very well but we showed some good form in finishing third at Glasgow and we’ll be looking to continue improving at our home tournament.

“Every game in this 12-team tournament is going to be like a cup final and it should be a great spectacle for another record crowd of more than 110,000 supporters over the two days.”

England kick-off against Fiji at 11:58 on Saturday before facing Samoa at 15:18 and Argentina in the last match of the day at 18:09

The final leg of the series consists of a 12-team tournament with the top two in each pool and the two third-place teams with the best records going into the cup quarter finals.

Alongside it runs the Core Team qualifying competition for the 2013-14 series with eight nations competing for the three places available.

Pool A of the qualifying competition includes Scotland, Hong Kong, Zimbabwe and Georgia. Pool B features Portugal, Spain, Russia and Tonga.

The Women’s Invitational Tournament at the Marriott London Sevens sees England face France, Spain and Australia on day one of an eight-team event.

Canada, Russia, the USA and Ireland are in the other pool of a competition staged on Twickenham’s Cardinal Vaughan pitches with the semi finals and final taking place at Twickenham Stadium.

Marriott London Sevens draw

Pool A: South Africa, USA, Australia, France
Pool B: New Zealand, Wales, Canada, Kenya
Pool C: England, Fiji, Samoa, Argentina 

Core Team qualifying competition
Pool A: Scotland, Hong Kong, Zimbabwe, Georgia
Pool B: Portugal, Spain, Russia, Tonga

Tickets for Marriott London Sevens are available via, priced at £25 for adults, £5 for juniors and £45 for weekend passes.