This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Ryan names unchanged squad for London Sevens

10 May 2013

  • England unchanged for Marriott London Sevens
  • England looking to build on third place finish in Glasgow
England's Tom Powell

Photo: RFU

England Sevens Head Coach Ben Ryan has named an unchanged squad for this weekend’s final round of the HSBC Sevens World Series at the Marriott London Sevens (May 11-12).

Following last weekend’s third place finish in the penultimate round in Glasgow, Ryan has kept faith in his 12-man squad who have now moved up to eighth in the World Series standings.

Once again Rob Vickerman will lead England into a tough assignment at Twickenham as they take on Fiji (11:20), Samoa (15:18) and Argentina (18:09) in their pool as they battle for a place in the Cup knock-out stages.

Tom Mitchell will start his second tournament in succession after returning from a five-month absence through injury, while Marcus Watson and Dan Norton provide firepower in the backs. Experienced heads such as James Rodwell and Mathew Turner will also be crucial this weekend as England look for a good platform to continue preparations for June’s Rugby World Cup Sevens in Moscow.

Ryan, whose side defeated Wales 24-21 for the third place finish last weekend, said: "We suffered some small injuries over the Glasgow weekend but thankfully they have all recovered well enough to be considered for selection. Not having a long flight and being able to use our rehab facilities at Twickenham has made a huge difference for us.

"Training has been at a good intensity as our wider squad has joined up with us and that has helped focus the side in what will be a very demanding weekend with three very exciting pool games to start proceedings on Saturday."

The final leg of the series consists of a 12-team tournament with the top two in each pool and the two third-place teams with the best records going into the cup quarter finals.

Glasgow Sevens champions South Africa are in Pool A with the USA, Australia and France, while series champions New Zealand are in Pool B with Wales, Canada and Kenya.

England Sevens squad

John Brake
Sam Edgerley
Mike Ellery
Christian Lewis-Pratt
Tom Mitchell
Dan Norton
Tom Powell
James Rodwell
Mathew Turner
Rob Vickerman (Captain)
Marcus Watson
Jeff Williams