This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Counties U20s name side for first Georgian challenge

14 May 2013

  • England Counties U20s name side for Georgia Select fixture
  • Game a precursor to Test match on Saturday (May 18)
England Counties U20s player Josh Pettet

Photo: RFU Archive

England Counties U20s have named their team to play a Georgia Select U20s in Tbilisi tomorrow, Wednesday, 15 May (kick off 7.30pm Georgian time, 3.30pm BST).

All players will have a minimum of 40 minutes' game time and two equally strong sides will start both halves to aid selection for the Test match against Georgia U20s on Saturday evening. 

Head Coach Bob Hood said: “We are looking forward to playing a powerful and physical game at a high tempo. Our planned approach and structure aims to maximise the strengths of our squad. We are excited to see the players realise their potential on Wednesday ahead of Saturday’s fixture.”

Two late changes were made ahead of departure with Johnny Matthews and Ben Rath coming into the squad in place of Nico Woodward (Cinderford RFC, Gloucestershire) and Mike Stanway (unattached, Eastern Counties) who were both declared unfit. Rath starts on the wing and Otley hooker Matthews on the bench.

Lock Josh Pettet (Sevenoaks RFC) who has previous international honours with England U18 Clubs and Schools is named as captain.

Team Manager Malcolm Ross said: “We have had a great few days in Tbilisi and are grateful for the excellent hospitality from the Georgian Rugby Union and the local community. The training facilities have been first class and we are looking forward to two highly competitive games.”

England Counties U20s

15. Jim Wigglesworth (Hull RFC, NLD, Midlands)
14. Jack Rossiter (Richmond RFC, Berkshire, South West)
13. Aiden Moss (Canterbury RFC, Kent, London & South East)
12. David Massey (Reading Abbey RFC, Berkshire, South West)
11. Ben Rath (Fylde RFC, Lancashire, North)
10. Rob Avery-Wright (Newton Abbot RFC, Devon, South West)
9. Nick Foster (Old Albanians RFC, Hertfordshire, London & South East)

1. Ricky Cano (Hartpury College RFC, Gloucestershire, South West)
2. Will Roberts (Loughborough Students RFC, Hertfordshire, London & South East)
3. David Coutts (Esher RFC, Hampshire, London & South East)
4. Josh Pettet (Sevenoaks RFC, Kent, London & South East) (Captain)
5. Gareth Baxter (Cambridge RFC, Eastern Counties, London & South)
6. George Oram (Medway RFC, Kent, London & South East)
7. Edward Webster (Preston Grasshoppers RFC, Lancashire, North)
8. David Jones (Caldy RFC, Cheshire, North)


16. Mike Flook (Dings RFC, Somerset, South West)
17. Johnny Matthews (Otley RFC, Yorkshire, North)
18. Zac Cinnamond (Wadebridge Camels, Cornwall, South West)
19. Guy Van Den Dries (Darlingotn Mowden Park RFC, Yorkshire, North)
20. Samir Kharbouch (Henley Hawks RFC, Berkshire, South West)
21. Jesse Liston (Canterbury RFC, Kent, London & South East)
22. Thomas Banks (Bishop Stortford RFC, Hertfordshire, London & South East)
23. Alex Seers (Chobham RFC, Surrey, London & South East)
24. Joe Allott (Sandal RFC, Yorkshire, North)
25. Ryan Redman (Medway RFC, Kent, London & South East)