This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Mike Tindall captains Barbarians against England

23 May 2013

  • Mike Tindall to captain strong side at Twickenham
  • RBS 6 Nations stars included with Elliot Daly at full back
Mike Tindall takes a breather in the Barbarians defensive line

Photo: Getty Images

Former England captain Mike Tindall will skipper the Barbarians against Stuart Lancaster’s charges at Twickenham on Sunday, leading a star-studded side brimming with internationals.

Tindall, who represented his country in 75 Tests since making his debut in 2000, joins Munster's Casey Laulala in the centres.

Welsh British and Irish Lions Dwayne Peel and James Hook start at halfback, while a host of key RBS 6 Nations performers are also included.

Italian loosehead prop Andrea Lo Cicero will shore up the invitational outfit’s scrum beside Saracens-bound Samoan James Johnston at tighthead, with Imanol Harinodoquy and Alessandro Zanni forming a formidable back row alongside London Wasps' Jonathan Poff.

Two other of Barbarians coach Dai Young’s uncapped Wasps will feature too, Elliot Daly in the number 15 jersey and highly-rated openside Sam Jones from the replacements’ bench.

England Head Coach Lancaster will announce his side and captain to face the invitational side at 11am tomorrow morning.

Barbarians side to face England on Sunday, May 26 (kick-off 1pm)

15. Eliott Daly (London Wasps)
14. Takudzwa Ngwenya (Biarritz and USA)
13. Casey Laulala (Munster and New Zealand)
12. Mike Tindall (Gloucester and England, captain)
11. Timoci Nagusa (Montpellier and Fiji)
10. James Hook (Perpignan and Wales)
9. Dwayne Peel (Sale Sharks and Wales)
1. Andrea Lo Cicero (Racing Metro and Italy)
2. Matthew Rees (Scarlets and Wales)
3. James Johnston (Harlequins and Samoa)
4. Jim Hamilton (Gloucester and Scotland)
5. Marco Wentzel (London Wasps and South Africa)
6. Alessandro Zanni (Treviso and Italy)
7. Jonathan Poff (London Wasps)
8. Imanol Harinordoquy (Biarritz and France)

16. Schalk Brits (Saracens and South Africa)
17. Duncan Jones (Ospreys and Wales)
18. Paul James (Bath and Wales)
19. Dean Mumm (Exeter and Australia)
20. Sam Jones (London Wasps)
21. Dimitri Yachvili (Biarritz and France)
22. Nick Evans (Harlequins and New Zealand)
23. Rowan Varty (DeA Tigers and Hong Kong)