This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Northumberland ease to Division 2 Plate win

27 May 2013

  • Two tries from captain Jason Smithson lead Northumberland to victory
  • North Midlands started well but soon Smithson and co took control

North Midlands 10 Northumberland 45

Action from North Midlands against Northumberland in the County Championship Division 2 Plate Final

Photo: Getty Images

Skipper Jason Smithson led from the front with two tries as Northumberland overwhelmed North Midlands in the County Championship Division 2 Plate Final at Twickenham.

The Blaydon No.8 scored in each half as his side came from 10-0 down to claim the trophy.

Full back Caolan Ryan’s try plus a penalty and conversion from his Moseley teammate Ollie Thomas were a fair reflection of the opening 15 minutes.

But Northumberland’s powerful forwards seized control of the middle of the match with Smithson, Northumbria University centre Tom Grimes and Tynedale flanker Sam Reynolds all scoring before the interval.

Any hopes North Mids had of working their way back into the match evaporated when their pack was shoved backwards under the posts with referee Craig Maxwell-Keys awarding Northumberland a penalty try.

Their backs went to work after that with Grimes and Blaydon wing Simon Barber touching down again either side of Smithson’s second score before the former England Counties captain lifted the trophy aloft.

North Midlands vs Northumberland teams

North Midlands: 15 Caolan Ryan, 14 Callum MacBurnie, 13 Rhys Owen, 12 Stefan Shillingford, 11 Drew Cheshire, 10 Ollie Thomas (C), 9 Joel Dudley, 1 Anthony Marfell, 2 Will Radburn, 3 Stefan Thorp, 4 Steve Smith, 5 Liam Mather, 6 Phil Horton, 7 Ben Pons, 8 Paul Hulland, 16 Finlay Sinclair, 17 Michael Hill, 18 Ed Parry, 19 Dave Hughes, 20 David Brazier, 21 Will Burton, 22 Jack Wardle

Northumberland: 15 Nathan Bailey, 14 Simon Barber, 13 Tom Grimes, 12 Tommy Banks, 11 Pete Moralee, 10 Grant Connon, 9 Harry Peck, 1 Robbie Kalbraier, 2 Matt Hall, 3 Alex Westgarth, 4 Graeme Dunn, 5 Keith Laughlin, 6 James Hamilton, 7 Sam Reynolds, 8 Jason Smithson (C), 16 Chris Harris, 17 Harry Mountain, 18 Jack Davidson, 19 Tom Schofield, 20 Ash Smith, 21 David Dickinson, 22 Dave Cherry