This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

CONSUR select 23-man squad to face England in Uruguay

28 May 2013

  • Players from Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay to face England
  • Six of South American invitational side in Pumas squad for June Test series
Tomás De La Vega in action for Argentina Under 20s in 2010

Photo: Getty Images

La Confederación Sudamericana de Rugby (CONSUR) has named a 23-man squad to face England in Montevideo this Sunday (June 2).

The party is set to form a South American XV to test Stuart Lancaster's charges as they look to build momentum ahead of the two-match Test series against Argentina, which starts the following Sarturday in Salta.

Four nationalities are included in the squad to challenge the tourists in the Uruguayan capital, comprising 10 home nation players as well as one from Chile (lock Pablo Huete) and one from Brazil – centre Moisés Duque.

The remaining 11 are Argentinean, six of whom – Belisario Agulla, Tomás Carrio, Tomás Cubelli, Tomás De La Vega, Benjamín Madero and Bruno Postiglioni – have been included in Santiago Phelan's group to play England next month.

Former internationals Rolando Martin, Federico Todeschini (both Argentina) and Pablo Lemoine (Uruguay) form the South American XV's coaching team.

Sunday's match at the the Estadio Charrua will be preceded by the Montevideo derby between Old Christians and Carrasco Polo.

England Head Coach Lancaster will name his own match-day squad on Friday. 

CONSUR squad to face England

Forwards (13): Antonio Ahualli (back row, Argentina), Arturo Avalos (hooker, Uruguay), Alejo Corral (prop, Uruguay), Tomás De La Vega (back row, Argentina), Oscar Duran (prop, Uruguay), Cesar Fruttero (lock, Argentina), Juan Gaminara (back row, Uruguay), Pablo Huete (lock, Chile), Nicolás Klapenvach (hooker, Uruguay), Diego Magno (back row, Uruguay), Javier Ortega Desio (back row, Argentina), Bruno Postiglioni (prop, Argentina), Mario Sagario (back row, Uruguay).

Backs (10): Belisario Agulla (wing, Argentina), Tomás Carrio (full back, Argentina), Tomás Cubelli (scrum half, Argentina), Santiago González Iglesisas (fly half, Argentina), Santiago Gibernau (centre, Uruguay), Leandro Leivas (wing, Uruguay), Benjamín Madero (fly half, Argentina), Moisés Duque (centre, Brazil), Agustín Ormaechea (scrum half, Uruguay), Juan Socino (centre, Argentina).