This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Students name development squad to face Wales

04 April 2014

  • Ollie Claxton and Freddie Clarke share captaincy
  • Head coaches Aaron James and Wayne Thompson look for leadership

England Students have named their development squad to take on Wales on Friday, April 4 at Taffs Well RFC, Cardiff (kick-off 7.30pm).

Coaches Aaron James and Wayne Thompson continue in their roles, sharing the responsibility of head coach between them for this development game.

James said: “Apart from James Farndon we have the same management, medical and support team and we all enjoy working together for the benefit of the players.

“This development game is a stepping stone for the new squad, for the players to experience and progress the team culture and the professional focus on and off the field.

“As all these players are available for selection next year it is also an opportunity for coaches and management to see the potential talent for possible inclusion into the 2015 campaign.”

“The selection list of players for this game was long and we know there are other quality University players who were not selected or available.

“Ollie Claxton and Freddie Clarke will share the captaincy role for this game. They have been involved in the previous Portugal, France and Wales games. Their leadership will assist all the players new to the programme.”

Clarke added: “The game on Friday night will be hugely important as it will be a great stepping stone in building the foundation for the squad next year. It will give us the opportunity to bring new players into an international set up to prepare them for next year.

“For me personally it is great to be back into an environment that is highly competitive with a great bunch of guys. We know that Welsh Academics will be hugely physical and look to disrupt the breakdown as much as they can so it is vital we prepare well before the game.”

England Students squad


Lovejoy Chawatama  (UWE Bristol)
Alec Clarey (UWE Hartpury)
Dalton Tice Bristol University
Gearge Beale (Exeter University)
Toby Saysell (Nottingham University)
Callum O'Connell (UWE Hartpury)
Will Witty (Newcastle University)
Will Foster (Durham University)
Harry Conchie (Bristol University)
Paul Davis (Exeter University)
Ben King (Exeter University)
Mark Lingard (University of Gloucestershire)
Freddie Clarke (Bath University)


Ollie Claxton (Exeter University)
Tom Banks (Newcastle University)
Will Cargill (Leeds Metropolitan University)
Rob Keith (Birmingham University)
Marcus Webber (Bristol University)
George Boulton (UWE Hartpury)
Lewis Jones (Leeds Metropolitan University)
Luke Peters (Leeds Metropolitan University)
Nana Asiedu (Canterbury Christchurch University)
Toby May (Cambridge University)