This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Midlands Under 20s name revised training squad

08 April 2014

  • Squad to be further trimmed after Burton session
  • Midlands complete preparations for Divisional Festival

The Midlands Under 20 selectors have named a 25-strong squad to complete their preparations for the England Counties Under 20 Divisional Festival at the Welbeck Defence Sixth Form College in Leicestershire over the Easter weekend.

The squad was reduced from an initial training squad of 40 after a training camp at Burton’s Peel Croft ground last weekend and will be further trimmed to 22 after another session at Burton tomorrow (April 9).

The Midlands will take a squad of 22 to the Divisional Festival but will also name three non-travelling reserves as cover for potential injuries over the weekend.

Midlands Under 20s training squad

Full back/wing: Sam Pointon (Loughborough University and East Midlands), Chris Fensome (Birmingham & Solihull and North Midlands), Joe Cantwell (Stockport and East Midlands), Joe Hearle (Shrewsbury Sixth Form College, Shrewsbury RFC and North Midlands)

Centres: Jordon Ingledew (Nottingham Trent University and NLD), Laured Kalari (Walsall and Staffordshire), Dale Glover (Kenilworth and Warwickshire)

Fly halves: Ben Penfold (Cambridge and East Midlands), Nathan Donnachie (Nottingham Trent University and East Midlands)

Scrum halves: Jack Daly (Cambridge and East Midlands), Alex Smit (Coventry and East Midlands)

Loose-head props: Jamal Ford-Robinson (Cambridge and East Midlands)

Tight-head props: Calum Miller (Cambridge and East Midlands), Ryan Getley (Trentham and Staffordshire)

Hookers: Ben Brownlie (Cambridge and East Midlands), Charles Lawton (Broadstreet and Warwickshire)

Locks: Matt Hubbard (Leicester Academy and Staffordshire), Luke Frixou (Derby and NLD), Hayden Edwins (Ampthill and East Midlands), Solomon Dacres (Bromsgrove and North Midlands)

Back rows: Alex Beddows (Broadstreet and Warwickshire), Josh Poullet (Paviors and NLD), Connor Nicholls (Worcester Wanderers and North Midlands), Louis Rawlings (Cambridge and East Midlands), Connor Gracey (Cambridge and East Midlands)