This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Mallinder to lead England U18 against Portugal

10 April 2014

  • Mallinder leads England Under 18 in FIRA opener
  • “Portugal won't hold back” – John Fletcher
Harry Maillinder

Photo: RFU Archive

England Under 18 have named their side to take on Portugal as they kick off their defence of the FIRA/AER European Championship in Poznan, Poland, on Friday (kick-off 11am BST).

Northampton Saints centre Harry Mallinder will lead the side in what is a repeat of last year’s opening game. England won that one 82-8 but Head Coach John Fletcher is expecting a physical encounter.

He said: “We’re looking forward to another FIRA Tournament – it’s good for the players to experience the hotel, the food and the culture of another country, because that’s part and parcel of modern rugby.

“We played Portugal last season and we know that they won’t hold back, but we have confidence in ourselves and we’ll be looking for the guys to perform as well as they can.

“Harry will lead the side out for this game, although Sam Underhill is our tour captain, and it’s a great opportunity for both of those players.”

England Under 18 starting XV to play Portugal

15 Cameron Cowell (St Pauls Catholic College, London Irish)
14 Kai Little (Hartpury College, Exeter Chiefs)
13 Joe Marchant (Peter Symonds, Harlequins)
12 Harry Mallinder (Rugby School, Northampton Saints)
11 Rotimi Segun (Stowe School, Northampton Saints)
10 Theo Brophy-Clews (Abingdon School, London Irish)
9 Alex Mitchell (Lymm High School, Sale Sharks)

1 Owen Hills (Queen Elizabeth Wyggeston College, Leicester Tigers)
2 James Fish (Trent College, Northampton Saints)
3 Josh Ibuanokpe (Dulwich College, Harlequins)
4 Huw Taylor (Old Swinford Hospital, Worcester Warriors)
5 Stanley South (Whitgift School, Harlequins)
6 Joe Batley (Hartpury College, Gloucester Rugby)
7 Josh Bainbridge (Prince Henry’s Grammar, Leeds Carnegie)
8 Callum Chick (Gosforth Academy, Newcastle Falcons)


16 Ollie Adams (St Pauls Catholic College, London Irish)
17 Lewis Boyce (Prince Henry's Grammar, Leeds Carnegie)
18 Jack Stanley (Truro College, Exeter Chiefs)
19 George Nott (Kings School Chester, Sale Sharks)
20 Will Safe (Hartpury College, Gloucester Rugby)
21 Sam Underhill  (Sir Thomas Rich’s School, Gloucester Rugby)
22 Jack Maunder (Blundells School, Exeter Chiefs)
23 Charlie Thacker (Leicester Grammar, Leicester Tigers)
24 Lucas Slowik (Filton College, Bristol Rugby)
25 Taylor Prell (Giggleswick School, Leeds Carnegie)