This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

VIDEO - Underhill captains England U18 in FIRA semi-final

14 April 2014

  • Sam Underhill captains from openside
  • John Fletcher makes 11 changes for Wales clash

England Under 18 have named their side to face Wales in the semi-final of the FIRA/AER European Championship in Poznan tomorrow (kick-off 1.00pm BST). A live stream of the game will be available

Coaches John Fletcher, Pete Walton, Ian Peel and Jon Callard have made 11 changes from the side that beat Portugal 62-5 with tour captain Sam Underhill coming in at openside.

Taylor Prell


Front row coach Peel said: “It’s always a big game against Wales and this will be no different. A few of these guys played them a couple of weeks ago at Neath RFC and put in a good performance, so we’ll be looking for similar.

“As a group we have trained well, the facilities in Poland have been excellent and we’ve enjoyed being here. The FIRA competition is always a good chance to play against the best players at this age group.”

Captain Underhill added: “We’re looking forward to playing Wales – we’ve gelled as a squad since we’ve been here and it’s a good chance to see how far we’ve come. We put in a good performance against Portugal but the challenge is to improve on that in our next game.”

England Under 18 starting XV against Wales

15 Taylor Prell (Giggleswick School, Leeds Carnegie)
14 George Perkins (Oaklands, Saracens)
13 Lucas Slowik  (Filton College, Bristol Rugby)
12 Charlie Thacker (Leicester Grammar, Leicester Tigers)
11 Kai Little (Hartpury College, Exeter Chiefs)
10 Theo Brophy-Clews (Abingdon School, London Irish)
9 Jack Maunder (Blundells School, Exeter Chiefs)

1 Lewis Boyce (Prince Henry's Grammar, Leeds Carnegie)
2 Ollie Adams (St Pauls Catholic College, London Irish)
3 Jack Stanley (Truro College, Exeter Chiefs)
4 Huw Taylor (Old Swinford Hospital, Worcester Warriors)
5 George Nott (Kings School Chester, Sale Sharks)
6 Joe Batley (Hartpury College, Gloucester Rugby)
7 Sam Underhill  (Sir Thomas Rich’s School, Gloucester Rugby, captain)
8 Will Safe (Hartpury College, Gloucester Rugby)


16 James Fish (Trent College, Northampton Saints)
17 Owen Hills (Queen Elizabeth Wyggeston College, Leicester Tigers)
18 Josh Ibuanokpe (Dulwich College, Harlequins)
19 Stanley South (Whitgift School, Harlequins)
20 Callum Chick (Gosforth Academy, Newcastle Falcons)
21 Josh Bainbridge (Prince Henry’s Grammar, Leeds Carnegie)
22 Alex Mitchell (Lymm High School, Sale Sharks)
23 Harry Mallinder (Rugby School, Northampton Saints)
24 Joe Marchant (Peter Symonds, Harlequins)
25 Rotimi Segun (Stowe School, Northampton Saints)
26 Cameron Cowell (St Pauls Catholic College, London Irish)