This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Under 18 Clubs and Schools edged out by Ireland

16 April 2014

  • Reed praise for battling England
  • Coser and Parfitt face fitness tests before France

England Under 18 Clubs and Schools were beaten 30-22 by Ireland Under 18 Clubs in their opening match of the Tri-Nations Festival at the French National Rugby Centre in Marcoussis today (April 16).

England led twice in a strongly-contested and open game but were edged out by a combative Ireland side.

“It was a very open-ended contest and towards the end we were really pushing them hard,” said England head coach Dave Reed.

“But we couldn’t quite get over the line and, unfortunately, we gave away too many penalties.

“We had a French referee and it was the first time that most of the players had played with a foreign referee.

“But that it was great experience for them and part of the education process that goes with playing international rugby.

“We will give the players a day off on Thursday and we are really looking forward to getting back in the training paddock on Friday ahead of our match against France Under 18 A on Sunday.”

England will give fitness checks to captain Jonny Coser and his back-row colleague Liam Parfitt, who both suffered shoulder injuries today, before they name their side to face France on Sunday (1.30pm local time).

England tries today were scored by lock Tommy Bell from a line-out catch-and-drive, full back Charlie Dockery from an excellent backs move and number eight Alex Brown from a turnover.

Fly half Harry Shepherd converted two of the tries and he also kicked a penalty to cap an impressive display in partnership with scrum half Cameron Lee-Everton

England Under 18 Clubs and Schools

15 Charlie Dockery (Epson College and Surrey)
14 Michael Ledger (St Benedicts Ealing and Middlesex)
13 Conor Bullivant (Moulton College, Northampton Old Scouts RFC and East Midlands)
12 Tom Morgan (Stonyhurst College and Lancashire)
11 James Neal (Hartpury College and Warwickshire)
10 Harry Shepherd (Moulton College and East Midlands)
9 Cameron Lee-Everton (Moulton College and East Midlands)

1 Adam Brocklebank (Myerscough College and Lancashire)
2 Owen Griffiths (Moulton College, Biggleswade RFC and East Midlands)
3 Jay Tyack (Bryanston School, Truro RFC and Cornwall)
4 Tom Bell (Uppingham School and Leicestershire)
5 Adam Thresher (Judd School, Sevenoaks RFC and Kent)
6 Jonny Coser (Barnard Castle School and Durham, captain)
7 Liam Parfitt (Rishworth School and Lancashire)
8 Alex Brown (Oaklands College, Saracens RFC and Hertfordshire)

Replacements used

Locryn Williams (Truro School and Cornwall)
Charlie Brown (Southend HS, Westcliff RFC and Essex)
Josh Waller (Peterborough Regional College, Peterborough RFC and East Midlands)
Michael Dewar (Abingdon School and Oxfordshire)
Dale Lemon (Cleeve School, Cheltenham RFC and Gloucestershire)
Charlie Dunbar (Stamford School and NLD)


IBM TryTracker