This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Under 18 name side to face South Africa

22 August 2014

  • England U18 name side to face Baby Boks in SA
  • Back row Charlie Beckett to lead the side 
England U18 train

Photo: RFU Archive

England Under 18 have named their side to take on South Africa in Stellenbosch on Saturday, the final game of their tour to the Rainbow Nation, kick off 3.00pm BST.

John Fletcher and Pete Walton’s side are two from two so far with wins against Wales and France, but head coach Fletcher says that playing the South Africans in their own back yard will be a huge test.

He said: “We know what to expect – they’ll be big, they’ll be strong and they’ll be direct. But we have our own game plan and we’ll be looking to take the game to them, but we’re under no illusions, it’ll be a tough game. The mood in camp is good – we’ve had a good tour and the lads have been great.”

QEW & Leicester Tigers back row Charlie Beckett will captain the side, and Fletcher said that he deserves the opportunity: “Charlie is a natural leader, he is respected and will lead the side well.”

Updates will be available via @EnglandRugby.

England Under 18 team to play South Africa

15 Taylor Prell (Giggleswick School & Yorkshire Carnegie)
14 Kai Little (Hartpury College)
13 Max Clark (Bryanston School & Bath Rugby)
12 Harry Mallinder (Rugby School & Northampton Saints)
11 Rotimi Segun (Stowe School & Northampton Saints)
10 Rory Jennings (Bryanston School & Bath Rugby)
9 Will Homer (Sherborne School & Bath Rugby)

1 Lewis Boyce (Prince Henry's & Yorkshire Carnegie)
2 Ollie Adams (St Pauls Catholic College & London Irish)
3 Ciaran Parker (St Ambrose & Sale Sharks)
4 Kieran Treadwell (John Fisher & Harlequins)
5 Joe Batley (Hartpury College & Gloucester Rugby)
6 Charlie Beckett (QEW & Leicester Tigers) (c)
7 Sam Underhill (Sir Thomas Rich’s School & Gloucester Rugby)
8 Lewis Ludlam (St Joseph’s College & Northampton Saints)


16 James Fish (Trent College & Northampton Saints)
17 Owen Hills (QEW & Leicester Tigers)
18 Seb Adeniran-Olule (Wellington College & Harlequins)
19 Joe Maksymiw (QEW & Leicester Tigers)
20 George Nott (Kings School Chester & Sale Sharks)
21 Joe Marchant (Peter Symonds & Harlequins)
22 Ollie Thorley (Cheltenham College & Gloucester Rugby)
23 John Williams (St Pauls College & London Irish)
24 Cameron Cowell (St Pauls College & London Irish)
25 Theo Brophy Clews (Abingdon School & London Irish)


IBM TryTracker