This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England match day 23 unchanged for Scotland trip

04 February 2014

  • Stuart Lancaster names same23 for game at Murrayfield on Saturday
  • Jonny May passed fit after broken nose in France defeat
England and Gloucester Rugby wing Jonny May in training

Photo: Getty Images

Stuart Lancaster has named an unchanged England squad to travel to Edinburgh for their RBS 6 Nations match against Scotland on Saturday.

Gloucester Rugby wing Jonny May was a doubt earlier in the after fracturing his nose early on in Paris, but the 23 year-old has been passed fit take his place in the 23-man group, which will return to Pennyhill Park on Wednesday evening.

The starting XV and replacements will be named on Thursday morning and Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said the players who performed so well in the last-gasp 26-24 defeat to France deserve the chance to put it right against Scotland.

“We were disappointed by the result against France but very proud of many aspects of the performance and we want to give the same 23 the opportunity to build on that against Scotland,” he said.

“All the squad have been excellent in training over the last two days and I know those going back to play for their Aviva Premiership clubs will be determined to put a marker down for the subsequent matches.” 

England squad to face Scotland (23)

Forwards (13)

David Attwood (Bath Rugby)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)  
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Backs (10)

Brad Barritt (Saracens)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
Alex Goode (Saracens)
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)

Returning to Aviva Premiership clubs (10)

Chris Ashton (Saracens)
Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)
George Ford (Bath Rugby)
Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby)
Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)
Matt Mullan (London Wasps)
Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)