This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

VIDEO – Unchanged England to face Scotland

06 February 2014

  • Jonny May passed fit after breaking nose in Paris 
  • “The players are all determined to put last week’s result behind us”– Lancaster

England have named an unchanged starting XV and replacements’ bench for Saturday’s Calcutta Cup clash against Scotland at Murrayfield (5pm, live on BBC Sport).

For the first time in 23 matches in charge, England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster has been able to retain the same match day 23 which was on duty at Stade de France for the trip to Edinburgh. In addition, London Wasps prop Matt Mullan will also travel as 24th man.

Jonny May

Photo: Getty Images

Gloucester Rugby’s Jonny May has been passed fit after breaking his nose in the opening minutes of the 26-24 defeat to France in Paris, while Jack Nowell and Luther Burrell, impressive on their Test debuts last time out, get another opportunity to impress in their fledgling careers at the highest level.

Chris Robshaw leads England again from openside flanker, with England Forwards Coach Graham Rowntree’s pack remaining unchanged for the third successive Test.

England have not scored more than 15 points at Murrayfield since 2004 and Lancaster knows a tough assignment awaits as he seeks to get a first win of the 2014 RBS 6 Nations.

He said: “It’s good to be able to select the same players and they are all determined to put last week’s result behind us and build on the performance. Scotland will be hugely motivated by their defeat in Dublin and, as we found two years ago, Murrayfield is a tough place to play.”

England to face Scotland at Murrayfield, Saturday, (kick-off 5pm GMT)

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 22 caps) 
14 Jack Nowell  (Exeter Chiefs, 1 cap) 
13 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints, 1 cap) 
12 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 9 caps) 
11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 2 caps) 
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 20 caps) 
Danny Care (Harlequins, 43 caps) 

Joe Marler (Harlequins, 16 caps) 
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 51 caps) 
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 44 caps) 
Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 15 caps) 
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 26 caps) 
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 24 caps) 
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain, 22 caps) 
Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 6 caps) 

16 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 13 caps) 
17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 11 caps) 
18 Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks, 3 caps) 
19 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 6 caps) 
20 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 16 caps) 
21 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints, 13 caps) 
22 Brad Barritt (Saracens, 17 caps) 
23 Alex Goode (Saracens, 14 caps)


England supporters can use #carrythemhome to tweet their motivational messages to the team, which could then appear on the Twickenham Stadium tunnel wall as the players take to the field. Before the roar of the crowd, the national anthems, or that first blow of the whistle, your words will inspire England. Be the First Contact.