This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

SQUAD UPDATE: 18 released back to clubs

11 February 2014

  • Starting side from Scotland and France to remain in Burton
  • Remaining 18 squad members head back to clubs
Mako Vunipola carries strongly against Scotland

Photo: Getty Images

England have released 18 players back to their clubs ahead of round 14 of the Aviva Premiership this weekend.

The starting XV from the game at Murrayfield will remain at St George’s Park for training on Wednesday and Thursday morning.

The whole squad will return to Pennyhill Park on Sunday evening to prepare for the RBS 6 Nations match against Ireland.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “We have reviewed the Scotland game with the whole squad and, while pleasing in many aspects, we have identified the areas we need to work on.

“There are some inevitable knocks from the weekend but nothing that we anticipate will keep players out of contention for the Ireland game.

“The replacements will return to their Premiership clubs and be available to play this weekend which will give them valuable game time.” 

Players returning to Aviva Premiership clubs

Chris Ashton (Saracens) 
David Attwood (Bath Rugby) 
Brad Barritt (Saracens) 
Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby) 
Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints) 
Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby) 
George Ford (Bath Rugby) 
Alex Goode (Saracens) 
Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby) 
Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs) 
Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby) 
Matt Mullan (London Wasps) 
Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers) 
Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks) 
Mako Vunipola (Saracens) 
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby) 
Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers) 
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Players retained at St George’s Park 

Mike Brown (Harlequins) 
Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints) 
Danny Care (Harlequins) 
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers) 
Owen Farrell (Saracens) 
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) 
Joe Launchbury (London Wasps) 
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints) 
Joe Marler (Harlequins) 
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby) 
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs) 
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins) 
Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby) 
Billy Vunipola (Saracens) 
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)


England supporters can use #carrythemhome to tweet their motivational messages to the team, which could then appear on the Twickenham Stadium tunnel wall as the players take to the field. Before the roar of the crowd, the national anthems, or that first blow of the whistle, your words will inspire England. Be the First Contact.