This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Walshe makes six changes to England U20 side for Ireland clash

19 February 2014

  • Howard Packman earns start on his home ground
  • Junior World Championship-winners Wilson and Sloan included
Howard Packman

Photo: Getty Images

England Under 20 have made six changes from the side that beat Scotland for their game against Ireland on Saturday at Franklin’s Gardens (live on Sky Sports, kick off 6.15pm). 

Wing Howard Packman comes in for his first start at his home ground, and there are also first starts of the season for IRB Junior World Championship winners Harry Sloan and Scott Wilson. 

Alex Lundberg, Harry Thacker and Joel Conlon are also included and Nick Walshe’s men will be aiming for their second win of this season’s Under 20 Six Nations. 

Walshe said: “It’s great to have this depth within our squad and we’re pleased to welcome back players with the experience that both Harry and Scott possess. Obviously it’s fantastic for Scott that he’s had recognition from the Saxons already this season, but his job, and our job, is to go out and perform well against Ireland on Saturday.

“The guys have trained well this week and heading back to Franklin’s Gardens is always special. It’s a proper rugby venue, we had a good win against Italy there last season and we’ll be looking to go out there and play as well as we can in front of a good home crowd.”

England Under 20 side to face Ireland

15 Nathan Earle (Saracens)
14 Zach Kibirige (Newcastle Falcons)
13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)
12 Harry Sloan (Harlequins)
11 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints)
10 Billy Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
9 Callum Braley (Bristol Rugby, captain)

1 Alex Lundberg (London Wasps)
2 Harry Thacker (Leicester Tigers)
3 Scott Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
6 Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby)
7 Joel Conlon (Exeter Chiefs)
8 James Chisholm (Harlequins)


16 Jack Walker (Leeds Carnegie)
17 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampton Saints)
18 Paul Hill (Leeds Carnegie)
19 Tom Ellis (Bath Rugby)
20 Gus Jones (London Wasps)
21 Henry Taylor (Loughborough University)
22 Sam  Olver (Northampton Saints)
23 Henry Purdy (Leicester Tigers)