This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Midlands quintet in British Police squad

16 January 2014

  • Police set for annual Fire Service challenge
  • Griffiths joined by West Midlands quartet

Five Midlands-based players have been included in the British Police squad for their annual services match against the UK Fire Service at Castle Park, home of National One club Doncaster Knights, on Wednesday January 22 (2.30pm).

Nottinghamshire Police lock Llyr Griffiths, who plays his club rugby for National Three Midlands club Nuneaton, will be joined by four members of the West Midlands Police force in the squad.

Richard Stott, the former Moseley and Stourbridge lock, and flanker Francis Nock, who plays for Longton in National Three Midlands, have been named among the British Police forwards with fly half Chris Scott, who plays for Earlsdon in Midlands Two West (South), and scrum half Toby Handley, who played Premiership rugby for West Hartlepool in the late 1990s, in the backs.

British Police squad

Backs: Nic Holt (Devon & Cornwall), Lewis Vague (Devon & Cornwall), Alex Clemie (Greater Manchester), Leighton Burrows (Gwent), Sam Johnson (Police Scotland), Ryan Moffat (Police Scotland), Russell McKeown (Police Scotland), Anthony Evans (South Wales), Ceri Young (South Wales), Toby Handley (West Midlands), Chris Scott (West Midlands).

Forwards: Mike Blakeburn (British Transport Police), Ben Cole (Devon & Cornwall), Kevin Allen (Dyfed Powys), Alun Davies (Dyfed Powys), Nick Blake (Gwent), Justin Jones (Gwent), Jake Lock (Met), Paul Storey (Met), Llyr Griffiths (Nottinghamshire), Steve Rutledge (PSNI), Dave Houston (PSNI), Colin Prime (PSNI), Dave Askew (Surrey), Richard Stott (West Midlands), Francis Nock (West Midlands).