This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Sevens face Australia in Commonwealth Games

16 January 2014

  • Pools announced for Commonwealth Games sevens this summer
  • England face Australia, Sri Lanka and Uganda in repeat of 2010
Simon Amor


Photo: Getty Images

England Sevens will face Australia, Sri Lanka and Uganda in the pool stages at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow this summer.

The draw confirmed by the International Rugby Board pits Head Coach Simon Amor’s side against the same three sides they met in their 2010 pool in Delhi.

England won all three of those games but lost the bronze medal match against South Africa, while Australia eventually finished as silver medallists behind New Zealand, who claimed a fourth successive title. The tournament takes place at Ibrox Stadium in Glasgow on July 26-27.

“The Commonwealth Games is a fantastic event to be involved in and now the draw has been made it brings it into a sharper focus,” said Head Coach Amor, who was a silver medallist in Melbourne in 2006.

“We have a talented squad and our aim is to keep developing and improving throughout the World Series, and be in great shape going to Glasgow in July.

“The tournament should be a great spectacle at a historic venue and being part of a successful England team is something everyone in the squad is striving towards.”

Mathew Tait in action at the 2006 Commonwealth Games


Photo: Getty Images

There are six survivors from the Delhi Games in England’s current squad: John Brake, Chris Cracknell, Dan Norton, Tom Powell, James Rodwell and Mathew Turner.

England are in Las Vegas and Wellington over the next month for the fourth and fifth legs of the HSBC Sevens World Series, which climaxes at Twickenham Stadium for the Marriott London Sevens in May.

The full pool draw for the opening day in Glasgow is as follows:

Pool A – New Zealand, Canada, Scotland, Nigeria
Pool B – South Africa, Kenya, Cook Islands, Trinidad and Tobago
Pool C – Samoa, Wales, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia
Pool D – England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Uganda