This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Saxons update: Sharples replaces Varndell

20 January 2014

  • Charlie Sharples replaces Tom Varndell as latest Saxons addition
  • Elliott Stooke, Matt Hopper, Rob Miller and Tom Mercey also come in
Gloucester Rugby wing Charlie Sharples, who has been added to the England Saxons squad

Photo: Getty Images

Gloucester Rugby wing Charlie Sharples is the latest addition to the England Saxons squad preparing to face the O2 Ireland Wolfhounds at Kingsholm on Saturday, January 25, replacing injured Tom Varndell.

Sharples joins 20 year-old Gloucester Elliott Stooke, who was announced as an injury replacement for injured Leicester Tigers lock Graham Kitchener yesterday, in the 23-man squad and will get the chance to play in front of a home crowd.

Elliot Stooke

Photo: Getty Images

Three further injury replacements yesterday saw Harlequins centre Matt Hopper, Sale Sharks full back Rob Miller and Northampton Saints prop Tom Mercey take over from Bath Rugby’s Jonathan Joseph, Leicester Tigers' Mathew Tait and Harlequins’ Will Collier.

No replacements have been called up in place of Leicester Tigers wing Miles Benjamin and flanker Jamie Gibson, who will be reassessed at the end of the week with a view to being available for the match against Scotland A in Glasgow on January 31.

In advance of Saturday's match, which live on Sky Sports HD from 5pm, RFUtv spoke to Freddie Burns, Dave Ward and Dave Ewers at their Loughborough training base. Keep an eye out for the interviews over the coming days.

England Saxons squad

Forwards (13)

Nathan Catt (Bath Rugby)
Calum Clark (Northampton Saints)
Sam Dickinson (Northampton Saints)
Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs)
Jamie George (Saracens)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Charlie Matthews (Harlequins)
Tom Mercey (Northampton Saints)
Elliott Stooke (Gloucester Rugby)
Luke Wallace (Harlequins)
Alex Waller (Northampton Saints)
Dave Ward (Harlequins)
Scott Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)

Backs (10)

Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
Elliot Daly (London Wasps)
Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs)
Matt Hopper (Harlequins)
Dave Lewis (Exeter Chiefs)
Rob Miller (Sale Sharks)
Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby)
Joe Simpson (London Wasps)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)