This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Thompstone, Robson and Brookes added to Saxons squad

27 January 2014

  • Trio of injury replacements added to England Saxons squad
  • Jon Callard’s side play Scotland A on Friday night in Glasgow
Gloucester Rugby scrum half Dan Robson on the run against Leicester Tigers

Photo: Getty Images

England Saxons have added three players to the group preparing to face Scotland A in Glasgow on Friday (7.30pm).

Leicester Tigers wing Adam Thompstone, Gloucester Rugby scrum half Dan Robson and Newcastle Falcons prop Kieran Brookes have joined the squad training at Loughborough University.

Thompstone – the Tigers' top try scorer last season – and Robson makes their first appearances at this level while Brookes made his Saxons debut in 2011 in the Churchill Cup record 87-0 win against the USA.

Bath Rugby wing Semesa Rokoduguni – ruled out of last weekend's 14-8 defeat against the O2 Ireland Wolfhounds with knee soreness – has returned to training ahead of Friday night's game at Scotstoun.

Those making way are Northampton Saints prop Tom Mercey (knee), Exeter Chiefs centre Sam Hill (hamstring) and Harlequins centre Matt Hopper (rib).

Robson takes over from Exeter Chiefs’ Dave Lewis and Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby) has rejoined the England senior squad at Pennyhill Park. A further addition to the backs available to head coach Jon Callard will be made in due course.

England Saxons squad


Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons)
Nathan Catt (Bath Rugby)
Calum Clark (Northampton Saints)
Sam Dickinson (Northampton Saints)
Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs)
Jamie George (Saracens)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Charlie Matthews (Harlequins)
Elliott Stooke (Gloucester Rugby)
Luke Wallace (Harlequins)
Alex Waller (Northampton Saints)
Dave Ward (Harlequins)
Scott Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)


Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
Elliot Daly (London Wasps)
Rob Miller (Sale Sharks)
Dan Robson (Gloucester Rugby)
Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)
Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby)
Joe Simpson (London Wasps)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Adam Thompstone (Leicester Tigers)