This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

VIDEO – Party leaders show their support for England Women

03 July 2014

  • Cameron, Clegg and Miliband are all supporting England Women
  • Get behind England Women by using #CarryThemHome

Prime Minister David Cameron, Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg and Leader of the Opposition Ed Miliband are the latest supporters to send their good luck messages to England Women ahead of next month’s Women’s Rugby World Cup in Paris (August 1-17). 

Joining England Captain Chris Robshaw and Prince Harry, the political trio also want to encourage the nation to get behind the team and build support for them before they head into the tournament.

Prime Minister David Cameron praised the impact of the 2010 World Cup on these shores before giving a message to Gary Street's charges.

“I hope that this summer’s Women’s Rugby World Cup can inspire a new wave of women and girls to take up the sport,” he said.

Sarah Hunter

Photo: Getty Images

“I wish everyone involved in the women’s rugby team the very best of luck and to everyone in England I say, let’s get behind our national team and let’s carry them home.”

In response, England Women vice-captain Sarah Hunter was clearly humbled, saying: “It is absolutely brilliant to know that the Prime Minister David Cameron, Nick Clegg and Ed Miliband will be backing us in Paris.

“As a team we hope that these messages encourage the nation to get behind us and show their support as we prepare for our first game against Samoa on August 1.”

England Rugby is calling all fans to come together in a patriotic show of support for the England team by tweeting their messages of encouragement to @EnglandRugby using #CarryThemHome in the lead up to the tournament.

England play Samoa on August 1, Spain on August 5 and Canada on August 9 at Marcoussis in Paris. The semi-finals and final take place on August 13 and 17 at the Stade Jean Bouin also in Paris. All matches will be broadcast live on Sky Sports.