This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Championship final team news: Bristol Rugby v London Welsh

03 June 2014

  • Teams named ahead of Wednesday night Championship final
  • Both teams show four changes to last week's starting XV
Championship team news

Photo: Getty Images

Bristol Rugby and London Welsh have unveiled their teams ahead of the Greene King IPA Championship final tomorrow evening (Wednesday June 4), KO 19:45. 

In front of a sell-out Memorial Stadium, Bristol Rugby will host London Welsh in the second leg of the final, with promotion to the Premiership the prize for the winner.

London Welsh start the game with the upper hand, having secured a 19-point advantage in the first leg at the Kassam Stadium. Tries from Nick Scott, Nathan Trevett and Carl Kirwin gave Welsh a healthy lead entering the second leg, although a buoyant home crowd will be hopeful of spurring Bristol on to a historical comeback in their last ever game at the Memorial Stadium.

Following injuries for both Ryan Jones and Luke Baldwin in last week’s first leg, Mitch Eadie and Ruki Tipuna enter the Bristol starting XV, while James Grindal comes onto the bench.

Cardiff Blues bound George Watkins is substituted by Charlie Amesbury, while in the front row Gaston Cortes starts with Jason Hobson moving to the bench. Tipuna assumes the captaincy duties.

Championship team news

Photo: Getty Images

London Welsh also make four changes for Wednesday’s season finale. In the backs, Alan Awcock starts at full back with Seb Stegmann moving to the right wing. Rhys Crane is named among the replacements.

In the forwards, Mitch Lees returns to the side at blind-side flanker to make his first appearance since Welsh’s win over Jersey on April 12. Richard Thorpe starts at Number 8.

London Welsh club captain Matt Corker makes his 199th appearance for the side.

The Exiles’ previous visit to the Memorial Stadium this season saw them on the wrong end of a 25-21 scoreline on April 18. The home side led 22-0 at one stage, before Welsh finished strongly.

Bristol Rugby
Jack Wallace, Charlie Amesbury, Jack Tovey, Ben Mosses, Andy Short, Nicky Robinson, Ruki Tipuna (c), Kyle Traynor, Ross Johnston, Gaston Cortes, Ben Glynn, Glen Townson, Nick Koster, Marco Mama, Mitch Eadie

Replacements: Rhys Lawrence, James Hall, Jason Hobson, Ben Skirving, James Grindal, Adrian Jarvis, Adam Hughes 

London Welsh
Alan Awcock, Seb Stegmann, Tom May (c), Seb Jewell, Nick Scott, Gordon Ross, Chris Cook, Nathan Trevett, Nathan Morris, Peter Edwards, Will Spencer, Matt Corker, Mitch Lees, Carl Kirwan, Richard Thorpe

Replacements: Nathan Vella, Tom Bristow, James Tideswell, Ben West, Ollie Stedman, Rob Lewis, Rhys Crane  

Bristol Rugby v London Welsh, Wednesday, June 4, KO 19:45. Live on Sky Sports HD