This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

VIDEO – England U20 make six changes for Australia

05 June 2014

  • England look to maintain winning run against Australia
  • Watch Charlie Ewels preview the Junior World Championship clash

England Under 20 have made six changes to the side that beat Italy 63-3 for their second IRB Junior World Championship clash against Australia at the QBE Stadium in Auckland on Friday, KO 0635 BST (live on Sky Sports).

Joel Conlon and James Chisholm

Photo: Getty Images

Howard Packman, Henry Purdy, Billy Burns, Henry Taylor, Charlie Ewels and Joel Conlon all come into the side as they prepare to take on Australia for the first time since 2012 – a game England won 17-13.

Australia beat Argentina 36-17 in their opening pool game and captain Maro Itoje says that his side will be looking to put in a strong performance against their southern hemisphere rivals.

He said: “We were pleased with how we played against Italy but the overriding feeling was that we still had more to come. We have trained well this week with the ultimate aim of performing well in this game.

“Australia will be a huge threat, they have players who have some Super Rugby experience, but we have players who have played at the top level too. We have prepared well and it’ll be a real honour to lead this England side out on Friday.”

England U20 team to play Australia

15 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints)
14 Henry Purdy (Leicester Rugby)
13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)
12 Harry Sloan (Harlequins)
11 Nathan Earle (Saracens)
10 Billy Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
9 Henry Taylor (Loughborough University)

1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampton Saints)
2 Tom Woolstencroft (Bath Rugby)
3 Paul Hill (Leeds Carnegie)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, captain)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
6 Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby)
7 Gus Jones (London Wasps)
8 Joel Conlon (Exeter Chiefs)


16 Jack Walker (Leeds Carnegie)
17 Alex Lundberg (London Wasps)
18 Harry Rudkin (Leicester Tigers)
19 Hayden Thompson-Stringer (Saracens)
20 James Chisholm (Harlequins)
21 Callum Braley (Bristol Rugby)
22 Sam Olver (Northampton Saints)
23 Aaron Morris (Bedford Blues)