This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Under 20 unchanged for JWC final

19 June 2014

  • England U20 name side to face South Africa in JWC final
  • Walshe in search of “complete performance” 
Callum Braley and Handre Pollard

Photo: Getty Images

England Under 20 have named their side to take on South Africa in the final of the IRB Junior World Championship on Friday at Eden Park (kick-off 0835am BST, live on Sky Sports).

Coaches Nick Walshe, Ian Peel, Simon Hardy and Jon Callard have kept the same starting XV that defeated Ireland 42-15 in the semi-final, with one change on the bench as prop Biyi Alo come in for Harry Rudkin. Lock Maro Itoje will captain the side, with tour captain Callum Braley among the replacements.

England are competing in their third final in four years, and will be hoping to defend the title they secured in France last season, beating Wales 23-15.

Head Coach Walshe said: “This is a great opportunity for our guys – they have been excellent all trip and have fully deserved to get to where they are.

“South Africa will be a difficult challenge, but we’re focusing on ourselves – we’re putting a real emphasis on performing for the full 80 minutes, we feel that we have played well in patches throughout the tournament but we want to see a complete performance.”

England U20 side to face South Africa

15 Aaron Morris (Bedford Blues)
14 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints)
13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)
12 Harry Sloan (Harlequins)
11 Nathan Earle (Saracens)
10 Billy Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
9 Henry Taylor (Loughborough University)

1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampton Saints)
2 Tom Woolstencroft (Bath Rugby)
3 Paul Hill (Leeds Carnegie)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, captain)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
6 Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby)
7 Gus Jones (London Wasps)
8 James Chisholm (Harlequins)


16 Jack Walker (Leeds Carnegie)
17 Alex Lundberg (London Wasps)
18 Biyi Alo (Saracens)
19 Hayden Thompson-Stringer (Saracens)
20 Joel Conlon (Exeter Chiefs)
21 Callum Braley (Bristol Rugby)
22 Sam Olver (Northampton Saints)
23 Henry Purdy (Leicester Rugby)