This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Midlands Under 20 selectors name training squad

27 March 2014

  • Midlands pick 40 for Burton training day
  • Ford-Robinson in extended squad

The Midlands Under 20 selectors have named a 40-strong squad for a training day at Burton RFC on April 6 ahead of the England Counties Under 20 Divisional Festival at the Welbeck Defence Sixth Form College in Leicestershire over the Easter weekend.

After the Burton session the Midlands squad will be reduced to 22 to prepare for the Divisional Festival with further training at Burton on April 9.

The Midlands training programme will mirror that which will be in place for the Divisional Festival and, for the first time, coaches from the Constituent Bodies have been invited to attend the training day and to deliver parts of the programme.

The Midlands training squad includes East Midlands prop Jamal Ford-Robinson, who has already played for the England Counties senior side this season.

England Counties Under 20 will play Georgia in a home international at a venue to be confirmed on May 24.

Midlands Under 20 training squad:

Full back/wing: Sam Pointon (Loughborough University and East Midlands), Donovan Cascoe-Smile (Dudley Kingswinford and Staffordshire), Chris Fensome (Birmingham & Solihull and North Midlands), Joe Cantwell (Stockport and East Midlands), Josh Palmer (Barkers’ Butts and Warwickshire), Jack Glancy (Oxford University).

Centres: Jordan Husband (Dudley Kingswinford and Staffordshire), Lewis Bain (Uttoxeter and Staffordshire), Jordon Ingledew (Nottingham Trent University and NLD), Laured Kalari (Walsall and Staffordshire), Nathan Donnachie (Nottingham Trent University and East Midlands).

Fly halves: Ben Penfold (Cambridge and East Midlands), Dale Glover (Kenilworth and Warwickshire).

Scrum halves: Jack Daly (Cambridge and East Midlands), Alex Smit (Coventry and East Midlands).

Loose-head props: Ryan Taylor (Bedford Athletic and East Midlands), Dan Hyams (Mellish and NLD), Jamal Ford-Robinson (Cambridge and East Midlands), Jonah Boyce (Birmingham & Solihull and North Midlands).

Tight-head props: Calum Miller (Cambridge and East Midlands), Ryan Getley (Trentham and Staffordshire).

Hookers: Ben Brownlie (Cambridge and East Midlands), Charles Lawton (Broadstreet and Warwickshire).

Locks: Matt Hubbard (Leicester Academy and Staffordshire), Luke Frixou (Derby and NLD), Rory Williams (Welbeck College and Leicestershire), Hayden Edwins (Ampthill and East Midlands), Brad Cook (Worcester Wanderers and North Midlands), Solomon Dacres (Bromsgrove and North Midlands).

Back rows: Alex Beddows (Broadstreet and Warwickshire), Seb Clark (Loughborough University and East Midlands), Connor Gracey (Cambridge and East Midlands), Josh Poullet (Paviors and NLD), Connor Nicholls (Worcester Wanderers and North Midlands), Tom Antrobus (Derby and NLD), Louis Rawlings (Cambridge and East Midlands), Jamie Skerritt (Syston and Leicestershire), Ed Garbett (Stourbridge and North Midlands).