This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Thanet Wanderers win National Colts Cup

05 May 2014

  • Old Elthamians beaten in Kent derby at Bedford
  • Ivybridge win Plate in last-gasp thriller

Thanet Wanderers romped to the Investabroad Properties National Colts Cup with a 50-19 win over Kent rivals Old Elthamians in today’s final at Goldington Road in Bedford.

It was the second highest score in the competition’s final after Bedford Blues’ 55-12 win over Hornets in 2010.

Old Elthamians beat Thanet Wanderers 36-12 in a league game before Christmas but the tables were reversed in a final that was more competitive than the final scoreline suggests.

Thanet Wanderers held their own up front and then took control of the game in the final quarter.

Centre Stuart Harrison scored a hat-trick of tries for Wanderers with open-side flanker Finn Tonry-Brown crossing for two.

The other tries came from wing Ryan Ashworth, blind-side flanker John Botchway and full back Tyler Webster.

Ashworth also kicked five conversions in a 15-points haul.

Ivybridge, who were beaten by Bedford Blues in the National Colts Cup final two years ago, lifted the National Colts Plate with a nerve-jangling 15-14 win over Market Harborough in the first final of the day.

Two tries from centre Toby Evans, a conversion from Billy Pinkus and a penalty from Adam Clayson cancelled out Market Harborough’s early lead before tight-head prop George Thornton went over for a late try.

That left Laurence Jowel with a conversion to win the match for Market Harborough but, much to Ivybridge’s relief, he put the kick wide.

Last week Jowel landed a touchline conversion to secure a draw against Oady Wyggestonians in the Leicestershire Colts Cup final, which secured a share of the trophy.

The National Colts Cup was introduced for the 1997/98 season as part of the East Midlands RU’s centenary celebrations.

The National Colts Plate, for sides beaten in rounds one to three of the Cup, was introduced two seasons later.

Both competitions, which are now contested by Under 18 teams from clubs across England, are organised by the East Midlands RU.